Music & Writing

DebE —  April 8, 2012 — 1 Comment

I was just commenting on a post about Music and Writing  and it just made me really want to share this tune from Hungarian artist Vad Fruttik. What I love about listening to non-English songs is that the lyrics can’t distract me, but I can still feel all the emotion … and this song always comes to mind whenever I explain that to someone.

I do also like English-language songs, of course, and may share some of the ones that inspire me as time goes on. Over the years, I have found an affinity for songs with clever use of language (think Soul Asylum and their song “String of Pearls”, for example). Of course, these aren’t ones I can get much out of while writing. They’re more the kind of song I want to immerse myself in on a regular basis – clever lyrics, or decent dance tunes (note the word “decent” – that doesn’t mean they can’t have sexy themes … in fact, the sexier the better, but I don’t like onst-onst numbers, on the whole … of course, there are exceptions, but I shall stop here).

So, as much as I love an angst-free life, I enjoy angst-fuelled drama. What music would you recommend I check out? I also enjoy sensual sounds – no, I’m not writing an erotic story – something that makes me aware of more than just my brain and fingers as they try to get words down (think: Deftones “Digital Bath”, “Change”, “Sextape” and “Knife Party” as particular favourites).

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Soul Asylum – Cartoon « rsmithing - May 3, 2012

    […] Music & Writing (deberelene.wordpress.com) Share this post: Pin ItShare on TumblrEmailMorePrintDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Wanna talk about it?