My bliss…

DebE —  February 8, 2014 — Leave a comment

When I write, and manage to get “into the zone”, I find my bliss. It’s cool. But it’s work. And when it’s work it can be hard to turn it into bliss as well.

But, I have another string to my bliss bow.

Because, not only am I a writer-mother (and part-time worker and wife and all that), I am a writer-gardener.

Yes. I admit it.

Gardening makes me happy.

And why wouldn’t it, with results like this?

Greenhouse

Greenhouse – Right hand side as at end of January 2014: strawberry plants at the top with a marigold to help keep insects down (not working). Tray attempting to germinate apple seeds at the top right. Below that is carrots in cut-down Coke and Pepsi bottles, with Rocket taking off in front (get it? taking off… ha!), and a tomato plant at the bottom left and more lettuce and another marigold…

Just wait… there’s more…

Greenhouse

Greenhouse (28th January 2014): Left hand side. Lettuces up top. More lettuces sprouting beside. And tomatoes down the bottom. I also have capsicums (not shown), and parsley (several varieties) , mint, thyme, oregano…

So… note the height of the tomatoes (28th January).

I took this photo of those lettuces on the top shelf today (8th Feb):

Lettuce

Lettuce

The tomatoes are getting tall, huh? 10 days…

And those lettuce seedlings aren’t the ones in the photo above… no! I’ve re-potted all those already and this is the next lot, germinating already. So fast, so easy! (When the greenhouse isn’t being destroyed by the wind and dropping my plants on top of each other… sigh).

But, my real baby in there is this:

Apple tree seedlings

Apple tree seedlings

Funny story (not really).

The wind blew and buffeted my “greenhouse” around, and broke my shelves (I’ve kind of fixed them) and lettuces and apples, etc went falling all over tomatoes and capsicums and oregano… I dug through the soil and found most of the lettuces and one apple (the one at the back), and put them back in their seeder pots. And I swept up the rest of the soil and put it back in the compost bag.

Then, a week or so later, I was re-potting those lettuce seedlings, and in the soil, I found a seedling… it looked familiar. Kind of like the apple seedling I had… and, well, there it is at the front! Out-performing its sibling because the other one had an issue with not really shedding the seed shell from its root and its gone a little rotten… so, I’ve pulled off the rotten root and giving the seedling a chance to regroup and regrow… we shall see. But, look at that star pupil that was in the dark of the compost for a week or so!

I can’t explain how happy growing stuff makes me.

We’ll be eating homegrown lettuce this week.

Lemons are on their way in the next few weeks. I’m debating whether to let the mandarin tree feed us this year or whether I should pull them off to let it get more established since it’s so young… such a hard choice!

Hopefully it’s all happy news here on out.

I tie the greenhouse to the balcony when the wind gets up now. So far, so good.

We get pretty cold winters with lots of frosts here… so, that will be the test of me. Can I keep things alive over winter??

Can she do it?

Place bets now!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you enjoyed this post, you can vote for it over at Springfree Family Times and help me win a trampoline for my family!! (Just picture me jumping on a trampoline – glee – yeah… now you wanna help me win, eh?)… You get free stuff, I get free stuff… win-win, no?

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

