Broken Bargain Pre-Release Tour – Author Interview: Jenny Keller Ford

DebE —  January 25, 2014 — 8 Comments

Broken Bargain Pre-release Blog Tour Banner

***NEWS: The winner of the $5 Amazon Gift Card I was giving away yesterday was Rose Lennart. I’ll be in touch with you soon!***

I have the privilege of hosting Jenny Keller Ford for an interview as part of Clare Davidson’s Broken Bargain Pre-release Blog Tour.

(Note: There’s a RAFFLECOPTER giveaway, too… see bottom of post)

Enjoy getting to know Jenny…

Hi Deb,

How are you? I really want to say thank you for having me today to talk to your readers.

 What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 30 or less words, what would you say?

 One More Day Book CoverMy most recent published short story is a YA piece titled Dragon Flight and it appears in the ONE MORE DAY anthology. It’s about a girl who is terrified of heights who gets stranded 300-feet in the air atop the rollercoaster, Dragon Flight. Time stops, everyone around, including her crush, freezes and she is the only one who can set the world right again…which means she has to get off the coaster. What she decides to do and what she learns along the way is pretty twisted, much like Dragon Flight.

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?

 I am currently writing a YA fantasy series, The Chronicles of Fallhollow. The first novel is finished and I’m in mad editing mode, and I’m working on books two and three.

What books have influenced your writing?

 C.S. Lewis was a huge influence. Charles Dickens remains one of my favorite authors because of his amazing characterizations. Raymond Feist is my mentor for fantasy world-building. 

Is there an Author that you would really like to meet?

 There are several I’d like to meet. Kristin Cashore, J.K. Rowling, Julie Reece, Raymond Feist, Louisa May Alcott and Charles Dickens (I know the last two are dead, but wow, the stories they could tell.)

Do you prefer ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover?

 I am totally a paperback/hardback kind of girl. Hardbacks to put on my shelves because they’re big and pretty; paperbacks because they fit well in my hands and I can bend them and crease them and love them. E-readers are too sterile to me.

Where do you prefer to buy your books?

 Local bookstores. Mom and pop places. If I can’t find what I’m looking for there, Barnes and Noble. I love brick and mortar stores. I love the smell of coffee brewing. I love being in the middle of all those glorious books. I like the whole touchy/feely experience. I’m on a computer all day writing. Why would I want to choose my books that way? Besides, I like chatting with other customers/readers. I’ve met some great people in bookstores. Such heaven.

What book would you like to read again?

 I have read Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix 7 times and would read it over and over again. It is my favorite of all the series.

Is there a particular movie that you preferred over the book version?

 While I love the Lord of the Rings books, I found them at times difficult to read and follow. Peter Jackson brought it all to life with the trilogy and I thoroughly enjoyed the movies.

What book are you currently reading and in what format (ebook/paperback/hardcover)?

 Right now I’m reading Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore (paperback), The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis (hardback), and Atlantis Rising by T.A. Barron (hardback)

Are there any Authors that have grasped your interest recently and why?

 Kristin Cashore. I love her “voice”. 

Do you buy a book by the cover?

 No, but it certainly makes me pick a book up to see what it’s all about. 

Do you have a book trailer?

 Yes, I do. I have one for Dragon Flight. I made it myself because I wanted to learn how and to see if I could do it. It was kind of fun and it took me all day to put it together. It’s not a ‘professional’ trailer, but I think it turned out well. You can see it here on YouTube

Do you write under a pen name?

Yes I do. My pen name is J. Keller Ford. I picked it out when I was a kid. It’s actually my maiden name so I didn’t have to go far to find it.

What date were you born? – you can leave off the year if you like.

 I was born July 24, which makes me a Leo for anyone who follows astrology.

{Ooh, a fellow Leo (o: }

If you were to perform in the circus, what would you do?

 I always wanted to be a trapeze artist. I thought it would be so much fun to cast off my fears, fly through the air and know someone would be on the other side to catch me.

If you could date any celebrity, who would it be and why?

 Hugh Jackman without a doubt. Heck, I wouldn’t have to date him. Just sitting next to him would give me the thrill of a lifetime.

Do you ever write in your PJ’s?

J Keller Ford fave place to write

“One of my favorite places to write”

I’m writing in them now. 😉

What are your pet peeves?

 I get very irritated with hypocritical people. This ‘do as I say do, not as I do’ attitude drives me crazy. I think people should practice what they preach.

 I also don’t like it when people make ‘jokes’ that are hurtful. All those ‘you’re so ugly’ jokes…yeah, not funny.

Have you ever jumped out of a plane?

 Why would I do such a thing?

Do you play a musical instrument?

 Do pots and pans count?

 {Today… yes, yes they do}

Most frequent song played?

 Fame and Fortune by Elvis will always top this list. Most recently, the repeat song is Show What You’re Made Of, by Backstreet Boys and MY IMMORTAL by Evanescence.

Most hated chore on the household chore list?

 All of them. I would love to have a maid and a chef.

 {ditto}

What punctuation mark best describes your personality? Why?

 The question mark. Because I’m quirky and make people scratch their heads. 

So you like to cook? Do you have a favorite food?

 King Crab legs and cheesecake, but not together.

Your thoughts on receiving book reviews – the good and the bad –

 I don’t mind book reviews. What authors have to remember is book reviews aren’t for the writer, they’re for the reader. I love getting great reviews. They do wonders for the old ego, but bad reviews are just as important because they thicken my skin. The writing business is not for the weak or sensitive. You have to take the good with the bad. In the end, I’m not overly concerned about what people think of me. As long as I know I put everything I have into my writing, then that’s the best I can do. I’m not going to please everyone.

Where is one place in the world that you would really love to visit someday?

 Italy

What is a movie or TV show that you watched just recently and really enjoyed?

 I am a HUGE fan of Revolution, Once Upon a Time, and Falling Skies. Recent movies I really liked: Catching Fire, The Hobbit II and the last Star Trek movie.

J Keller FordWhere can your readers stalk you?

My blog: http://jennykellerford.wordpress.com

Website
My facebook page
My Goodreads author page
Twitter
Amazon
Pinterest

Is your book in Print, ebook or both? Both

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The all important giveaway…

Now, unfortunately, I can’t host the Rafflecopter widget right here in this WP.com-hosted site, but I can send you on over to Rafflecopter to enter for lots of prizes, including free ebooks, paperbacks and an Amazon gift card.  Yeah, right there.. did you see the link? Click it! Go on… CLICK IT!

Good luck, Clare!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you enjoyed this post, you can vote for it over at Springfree Family Times and help me win a trampoline for my family!! (Just picture me jumping on a trampoline – glee – yeah… now you wanna help me win, eh?)

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

8 responses to Broken Bargain Pre-Release Tour – Author Interview: Jenny Keller Ford

  1. 

    Reblogged this on J. Keller Ford and commented:
    I had lots of fun answering these interview questions! I hope you enjoy and if you can, help Deb’s family win a trampoline!! How fun is that!

  2. 

    Great interview! It’s always awesome to find another Harry Potter fan 🙂

  3. 

    I always love learning more about Jenny!! Great interview 🙂

  4. 

    Thank you for having me, Deb. I had a great time with the interview.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. 5 Simple Steps to Success / 7 Day Guide to Meditation | - January 27, 2014

    […] – J.L. Mbewe’s blog 24th January – Sharon Sant’s blog 25th January – Deb E Howell’s blog 26th January – J Keller Ford’s blog 27th January – Allison Agius’ blog 28th […]

Wanna talk about it?

