2013 in review

DebE —  January 1, 2014 — Leave a comment

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

A New York City subway train holds 1,200 people. This blog was viewed about 5,400 times in 2013. If it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 5 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

So, 2014 has arrived. Here in New Zealand, it’s been here awhile (20 hours, now). While I won’t be making resolutions, as such, I will be making plans for the year. They cover several aspects of my life.

As a Writer, I plan to finish, polish and publish my current Work In Progress, WARRIOR’S TOUCH.

As a Writers’ Group “President”, I plan to learn and do what I can to give my group members value for their membership.

As a Wife/Business Partner, I plan to learn what I can about assisting with the running of a business. I’ll be learning PAYE, tax and basic accounts.

As an employee, I plan to keep on top of my job tasks (documentation and internet-based marketing) and not be a cause for stress within the business. Of course, my ability to do this, unfortunately, relies on others doing their bit to help me out, too… we shall see how that goes. It’s tough for me, because, being rather introverted and a conflict-avoider, I hate, hate, making phone calls. Often I do get away with emailing, but emails can be ignored (and are).

As  homeowner, I plan on finally getting those (thankfully small) renovations we’ve been planning to do since we moved here (wallpaper/paint and carpet, maybe a bit more in the bathroom) done and finally, finally get moving to our dream property (somewhere where we can take Chino, our mini horse).

Bromiliad with PURPLE flower

Of course, not ALL plants have to be for eating… PURPLE!

As a Mum, I plan to keep working on growing much of our own veges in order to 1) teach my son where food comes from, and 2) provide healthy food options.

Oh, yeah, and then there is that little question of whether to “give” the boy a sibling… and when. Something tells me, not this year.

Along with all this is the usual plan to get our stuff organised, do a little de-cluttering and such so that life can feel a little more simple in amongst all the chaos that being busy brings.

Something that will help with this is the 2nd-hand phone I’m waiting to arrive from Australia when a friend’s mother returns from her Christmas trip. It’s a Samsung Galaxy Note II and, from what I can tell, it’s got a ton of features that will help me keep all these balls in the air… I hope.

All the usual plans to fit in more exercise, etc will remain, but, as much as I wish to be healthy and energetic, being a certain weight/size is a few steps down on my priority list.

Fact is, just reading that list gets the stress levels rising. Most of it I’ve been doing through 2013 and I know how crazy my timetable feels already. The business-running (when our company splits into several separate smaller businesses – one part of which will be run by me and my husband) is the big unknown. How many more hours will it add to my already packed schedule? Will we be able to afford to bring home the same pay packet we have been? We will learn, swiftly, whether our part of the business has been holding up it’s own, or if it was being subsidised by the rest (in which case, we will be in trouble!).

And, in and around all this, I will be finishing my next WIP. The most difficult part of which is that, despite generally favourable comments for HEALER’S TOUCH, I seem to have lost all ability to tell whether or not what I’m writing is any good… I’m fairly confident there is some good stuff in there… I remember re-reading some early chapters and being sucked in, but, well… I’m well aware of how different it is to critique my own work vs someone else’s. If I’m critiquing someone else, I can say “You should consider doing this…” or, “This part would benefit from being re-written in this other POV…”. Making the same comments to myself, I have to fight through the “Argh! More work!” brick wall, along with the “If I got it wrong the first time, who’s to say I’m right this time?” doubts.

I’d say I should add “Build confidence” to my list of Resolutions That I’m Not Making, but, well, meh… I think I have enough to do!

On the whole, though, I am feeling like 2014 will be good to us. Call me an Optimist (because, well, I am), but one way or the other we’ll come out the other side alright…. even if all that means is that we’ve learned some lessons.

So, what do you expect 2014 to bring for you? Happy to see the back of 2013? Stress on the horizon? Or are you prepped to reap the benefits of last year’s work?

 

If you enjoyed this post, you can vote for it over at Springfree Family Times and help me win a trampoline for my family!! (NB: They’ve called my blog the “Deb E Relene” blog… I understand the error. Really, it’s Deb E, or Deb Erelene, or Deb E Howell, but, well…)

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

