Hippy Self-Sufficiency Stuff Update

DebE —  December 13, 2013 — Leave a comment

So, a few weeks ago I told you all about how I had come into possession of some seeds and was beginning my own pot-garden…

…um, I mean…

Well, you know what I mean. I was beginning to grow edible plants in pots (because that’s how I roll when it comes to gardening).

So, I thought I might update you on progress.

Buttercrunch Lettuce

Buttercrunch Lettuce

Here is my first lettuce. Now, in that first sowing, I planted about 3 lettuce seed… yeah… this is the only one that did anything. Since then, I’ve sown another 3 or 4 lettuce seeds… no dice. However, I did sow one in a small pot inside on Monday and it’s looking promising. I hope to transplant it outside next week.

Just goes to show, this gardening thing is not as simple as it looks!

.

.

.

.

Capsicum

Capsicum

Good news, though. I planted two Capsicum seeds directly in pots outside and… guess how many have sprouted… Yep… TWO!

Looking good!

.

.

.

.

One of the tomato seeds I popped straight outside has germintated… the rest… :o/  IMG_8325smHowever, I started several inside soon after planting the ones outside, and I got four out of that lot. Yummy. Looking forward to some juicy tomatoes!

.

.

.

.

And, as you may recall, I also had some strawberries going inside. Well, it got a bit hot inside and they fried a little bit. But I dashed them outside, and they’re doing not too bad. Again, I’m no gardening expert, and I’m making plenty of mistakes, but, well…

Strawberry

Strawberry

For one thing, the pots I have them in have no drain holes! They’re meant to, but the plastic bungs got so brittle that when I tried to pull them out, the edges just pinged off and I have nothing to grab a hold of any more… What I need to do is bash them in. That’d do the trick.

Anyway, I haven’t done that, and we had a ton of rain yesterday (with spectacular rumbles of thunder) and the soil’s a touch boggy. I finally put some mulch over top of it today to keep the strawberries out of it, because, well, they go an icky black when they’re sitting on wet soil. I kinda knew you were meant to keep them up off the soil… now I know why!

Strawberry

Strawberry

Still, the little battlers are throwing out strawberries left, right and centre for me. And runners, too. Oh, the runners. What do I mean by runners? I mean whole new strawberry plants that the main plant throws out. You can pull them off and plant them elsewhere… not always successful, but if you let them get to a certain point on their parent, they should go alright for you. I’ve been putting ours in our front “garden” (my neighbours may beg to differ on that term). I’m using strawberries for groundcover!! Slowly but surely we will claim our garden from teh weedy grass that’s taken over.

Anyway, it’s my general opinion on the whole matter that it’s about time we got back in touch with where our food comes from. I suck at this, but I plan to get better. There will come a time when our family has plenty, and it’ll all be our own doing.

And, yes, I really should use tables for posts like this, but, meh, I can’t be bothered playing with HTML today… back to Synopsisorising… (totally a word).

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

