New Release & Author Interview: The First Day Of the New Tomorrow by Jennifer M. Eaton

DebE —  October 13, 2013 — 3 Comments

First Day of the New Tomorrow Blog Tour

Hello, Jennifer! Welcome to the home of Deb E., where I grill you slowly, basting regularly, until you’re nice and tender then I—uh, hey, where ya going?

What are you, nuts? [I can neither confirm nor deny] I’m nobody’s turkey. Or chicken. Choose your foul!

Come back, come back, I’ll be gentle. Promise. [See. I look totally innocent].

Okay, well the innocent thing is still up in the air. Put that baster down, please.

So, first up, can you tell me a little about you and your induction into writing?

I started writing in high school on a whim. I always had stories in my head, but writing them down took too long and my father had to buy stock in correction tape for the typewriter.

Hold it. I see that baster. Put it down!

Anyway… then Daddy came home with one of those new-fangled home computers. I was so excited. I could actually type and then click my mistakes away. So cool. Did I just date myself? [Maybe… ] Ha!

I wrote a chapter and showed it to my friends in home room the next day. It circulated, and I opened Pandora’s box. Teenagers can be high pressure, you know? I was under the gun to write a chapter a night so they could read it the next day. It was great motivation!

The First Day of the New Tomorrow CoverTell me a little about your YA Paranormal/Superhero story, FIRST DAY OF THE NEW TOMORROW. From your blurb, Maya sounds like a pretty ordinary (read: easy to relate to) teenager, with all the regular teenagery concerns. I’m curious about her power. Can you tell us a little about that?

Oh…. It’s awesome. She can do anything. ANYTHING!

Can you imagine? Being a teenager… can’t catch the eye of the boy you can’t stop thinking about… You hate the way you look… all that normal stuff… then one day you wake up with nearly omnipotent powers… as in your every thought becomes a reality.

Sounds awesome, right? Not necessarily. Maya finds out it’s really hard to control her thoughts.

Is FIRST DAY OF THE NEW TOMORROW part of a series?

I never really intended THE FIRST DAY OF THE NEW TOMORROW to be a series, but after my son read it, he came running down the stairs, excited, asking questions and wondering what could happen next. I was stunned by his enthusiasm, so I’ve considered writing a sequel. I just need to wait until a good idea hits me.

Are you working on another book, related or not?

Right now, I am working on OPTIMAL RED, which is a follow up to my very first published story LAST WINTER RED. I didn’t intend for this to be a series either, but the reviews on LAST WINTER RED were awesome, and so many people asked for more stories in this world.

OPTIMAL RED is a full-length New Adult Dystopian, and I’m really excited about it.

I’m also currently seeking representation for FIRE IN THE WOODS, which is a high-paced young adult chase novel with lots of action and explosions. I’m super-excited to get that out to readers.

Now, I know you have another book that just came out. Can you tell us a little about that as well?

Yes! This has been a good year for me. PAPER WISHES is a wonderful sweet romance about a single Mom looking for love, and suddenly opening her eyes and noticing her best friend. I usually write speculative fiction, so contemporary romance was a bit of a stretch for me, but I am thrilled with the story.

How are you finding marketing your book? Is it easier/tougher than you expected?

I’ve been through marketing a few times. I don’t really find it hard, but it is time consuming. I do a lot of public appearances including book signings and panel discussions the month a book releases, and I do panels at least once a month between releases. Blog tours are great fun. I like getting out and meeting new people.

Is there a particular book you might say inspired you to take up the pen as well?

I can’t say there was a particular book, but when I was younger I always thought reading was a bore because all I had to read were the books the school provided. When my dad gave me a copy of THE GREAT HUNT by Robert Jordan, I realized that books could be just as exciting and elaborate as my own imagination.

Is there a book you might consider your Guilty Pleasure? You know it’s no literary masterpiece, but it just keeps drawing you back…?

The only books I’ve read more than once are the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. I’d also like to read Mists of Avalon again, because I remember LOVING it, and I’ve heard people pan it lately. I’m curious to see if I’d love it just as much as a writer as I did when I was solely a reader. I’m not guilty about reading either though.

White wine, or red?

I guess white if I had to choose. I prefer a really sweet girly wine, but I’m just as happy with a Gatorade.

Coffee or tea?

Tea! Orange Pekoe to be exact, with milk and a touch of sugar. I can’t stand the smell of coffee.

Dark, light, or white chocolate?

Dark chocolate, baby! Love the stuff. There is nothing like letting a smooth, sweet dollop of chocolaty goodness melt across your tongue, sending a shiver of delightful inspiration shimmering through your body. Yeah, it’s that good.

Spicy or mild?

Depends on my mood. If we are talking about wings, I like them mild, but what I consider mild sends my mother-in-law running to the sink crying… so I think it’s all kind of relative. (Ha! — no pun intended)

Sleep in, or get up early?

I have to get up early every day, so I do enjoy sleeping in on a Saturday and Sunday, but that only means sleeping until 8:00 or so. The kids and poodle get restless after that.

Name 3 things you can’t stand to leave home without…

Chocolate

A Gatorade split with ½ water

My phone – I’m convinced my car will break down if I don’t have it.

Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?

I’d prefer to do it at home in my office, but I do most of my “Conceptualizing” while driving to and from my day job, and the actual typing it out into my computer happens on the only free time allotted to just me – my lunch break. Luckily, I type really fast.

Where can your reader stalk you?

Lots of places! The best place to reach me is my web-site/blog. I am there daily. But I hop around these great places as well:

Email | Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Manic ReadersGoodreads | Amazon

Or buy your books…?

Amazon US

Muse It Up

Barnes & Noble

Kobo Books

Thanks for stopping by, that’s all for now. You’re welcome back any time. Don’t forget the BBQ sauce!

Just keep that baster to yourself – But thanks for having me!

***

Jennifer M Eaton - AuthorBio:

Jennifer M. Eaton is a contemporary blender of Science Fiction, Dystopian, and Romance. Her work ranges from the sweet contemporary romances of Paper Wishes, to the dystopian society of Last Winter Red and Optimal Red, with a dusting of young adult paranormal just for fun in The First Day of the New Tomorrow.

While not off visiting other worlds, Jennifer calls the East Coast of the USA home, where she lives with her wonderfully supportive husband, three energetic boys, and a pepped up poodle.

Full time team leader, full time mom, and full time novelist… what more can you ask for? Writing help did you say? Well, sure! Jennifer hosts an informational blog aimed at helping all writers be the best they can be. Stop on by and chat. She loves to hear from fans! http://www.jennifermeaton.com/

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

3 responses to New Release & Author Interview: The First Day Of the New Tomorrow by Jennifer M. Eaton

  1. 

    Thank you so much for having me!

Wanna talk about it?

