Just keep on steppin’ And you’ll be just fine…

DebE —  September 30, 2013 — Leave a comment

My (3yo) son is a not very closet Michael Jackson fan, so I have this song (amongst others) in my car…

So, for you fellow writers out there, as well as the rest of you with a dream you’re pursuing, here’s another anthem to add to the playlist…

‘Cause there maybe times
When you think you lost your mind
And the steps you’re takin’
Leave you three, four steps behind
But the road you’re walking
Might be long sometimes
You just keep on steppin’
And you’ll be just fine, yeah”

Yep, this is from The Wiz, and that is Diana Ross singing with MJ.

Other songs to keep in your bag of tricks:

Hall of Fame” by The Script and will.i.am:

“Do it for your people
Do it for your pride
Never gonna know if you never even try”…

And, of course, Cliff Richard‘s “Never Say Die” (aka, my ‘get through a long labour’ song):

Don’t give up the fight – you gotta keep on
Going with all you might
Try hard don’t stop – gotta keep on giving it
All you got

(Yep, even Cliff fell for the ‘break for a rap’ thing in the 80s….).

So, whatever you’re doing… Do it, and keep on doing it.

Because… “When you think you’re through, what you gotta do is give a little bit more…” (And, yes… going into the late part of day two of my super long labour, I did play this song to myself in my head… and I got there, with chemical and surgical help, but I got there, and I deserved it).

(o:

PS: Let me know if you’ve got a special “Rooting for ME!” song that keeps you going…

.

Oh! Oh! I’ve got one!

When you find it, don’t put it down…

The fire in you has the right to burn. Don’t let anyone put it out…

.

Dream denial, well I never understood it…

Choose your life

Choose it well…

.

Where’s my time? My time is f***in’ now!

… Yeah.

(Gosh, I could quote the [ahem] outta that Reef song…)

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

