Perfection: A step too far?

DebE —  August 3, 2013 — 5 Comments

Purple phone cover

Purty in Purple

So, recently I bought a second-hand phone off a friend after she upgraded. It was pretty cool but, being a pink fan, she had put a pink protective cover on it. I like protective covers, but pink is not my colour. It just didn’t feel right. So, I invested in a purple gel cover (ooooh, a grand $4! Ouch!). Let me tell you… it’s MUCH better. I have even found myself gazing on the beautiful purple-ness of it… yes, it’s true.

Anyway, the purple cover came with a screen protector. In this day and age of Gorilla Glass I don’t tend to worry much about protective screen covers, besides, you usually just end up trapping bubbles under them. Well, I think I saw the screen protector as a challenge, and so I set about putting it on the phone. I managed to do it with just two tiny “bubbles” where pieces of dust had managed to cling to the protector before it settled on the screen. Pretty good. Pretty damn good, in fact. And so the screen protector stayed, even though I’m not totally sold on the effect it has on the view of the screen.

Well, despite this success, I found myself looking at these teeny tiny bubbles one day and, for some bizarre reason, thought maybe I could get rid of them.

Yeah, well…

I managed to introduce a tiny hair from somewhere which created a bigger bubble and another piece of dust settled just below the earpiece, and the corner I lifted won’t quite stick right down again…

… yeah. Think about that next time you’re thinking of just tweaking your manuscript one last time, eh?

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

5 responses to Perfection: A step too far?

  1. 

    Perfection in a manuscript doesn’t exist. That’s what editors are for! 😉

    • 

      And even then…

      Perfection doesn’t exist anywhere.

      But you sure do need to watch those final tweaks. That’s when new inconsistency errors can be added.

  2. 

    Haha, so true! It reminds me of that saying – “The perfect is the enemy of the good.”

    Sometimes, it takes more guts to know when it leave it well enough alone.

  3. 

    Of course, if you had succeeded, the moral lesson here would be completely different!

    • 

      Ha ha, indeed!
      Personally, I don’t believe in perfection, though I do believe in striving for it — to a point. Aim for Good Enough and then give a little bit more and you should be about right… and (if you’re a writer) then you pass it to Beta Readers and Editors….

Wanna talk about it?

