New year, New look

DebE —  June 22, 2013 — Leave a comment

It’s the Solstice. Summer for you lot up north, winter for us southern babes. And a solstice means a new year. In fact, the Maori New Year, Matariki, occurs at this time of year. It’s not based on the solstice, but rather on a particular constellation of stars making its appearance in the dawn sky. Thing is, though, you notherners celebrate your new year in the middle of winter, looking ahead to the longer, warmer days to come. If us all the way down here were going to do the same, then we’d do New Years now. So, it doesn’t surprise me that that is exaclty what the Maori do. As it is, though, I rather enjoy celebrating New Years at the height of summer… makes for lovely long party nights.

Making another observation… technically, our clockwise should be your anti-clockwise… just sayin’. There are “anti-clockwise” clocks (which, if it’s the direction the clock goes, makes it clockwise, bringing about the question “Can anti-clockwise clocks actually exist?”, but I digress…). I’m tempted to make them my staple.

Anyway, what I wanted to draw your attention to is the new look for my blog. My graphic designer friend, Kura Carpenter, made the new banner up for me. I hope you like it. I do. And I surprise myself with how much I like the red background I picked to match it… Red is not traditionally amongst my favourites.

New beginnings…

I’m ready.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

