Write.

DebE —  June 15, 2013 — 4 Comments

If you want to play this game, you have to be stubborn and push through all your own doubts and just have some silly little part of yourself keep telling you “I can do this”… it’s the only way. I suck. I’m no where near as good a writer as I want to be… but people do seem to like reading HT, if they know it exists… but first, it had to exist… in completed form…

There, I said it…

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

4 responses to Write.

  1. 

    You did it once and you can do it again. If you really sucked your editor would have told you so. Get that first draft out. Then worry about the quality all you want. You can do it! 🙂

    • 

      Heh. This was meant to be a pep-talk for other writers, but thanks for the support. I think I will always think I suck, because the people I idolise will, hopefully, always be getting better, just as I plan to. I think if one day I turn around and say “Bow before me, I am a GREAT Writer”, then my craft is in trouble!

      The first draft is coming, if a bit slow. I used to hear whole conversations in my head between sessions in front of the computer. These days I only capture a line of dialogue here, a thought there… Makes the writing slow. But it progresses. Two days this week I have topped 1000 words added (even after several deletions), so we’re getting there.

      How is your writing progressing?

      • 

        Yeah, I totally knew you meant for other writers. No, no I didn’t. *hangs head in shame* 🙂

        It’s coming along. I’m concentrating on something I started a while ago and have to go through and fix a minor formatting issue so I’m editing and fixing before really digging in. It helps get my mind wrapped around all the details. I love when a story comes together better than we initially thought it would. I’ve got 98 pages and counting.

        I guess we’re both awesome. Slow, but awesome. 😉

        • 

          I like fixing things… it’s getting the ideas down in text that’s hard.
          Sure… we’re awesome… Everyone else just needs to learn it.

Wanna talk about it?

