Music: New Zealand Music Month – Anika Moa: Running Through The Fire

DebE —  May 1, 2013 — 2 Comments

Hey guys… it’s that time of year again… New Zealand Music Month!

You see, New Zealand is such a tiny country (honest… we are) that it is easy to get swamped by the cultures of much bigger markets, and so we dedicate a whole month to increasing the chances of local artists actually being played on our radios! Believe me, before NZ Music Month existed, it was a rare thing.

Tonight I am posting a song very dear to me. I love Anika Moa. I think she’s gorgeous, talented and just writes some of the most gorgeous songs. So that’s one point. Then there is the fact that several of Anika’s songs resonate with me enough to wind up on my writing playlist.

In Healer’s Touch, some may agree that Llew’s attempt to rescue her father from the clutches of Braph is the most poignant part of the book. After years of believing her father had abandoned her, Llew discovers he actually left to lead Braph away from her, getting himself caught instead… It’s fair to say, Llew had “Daddy Issues”…

Simple the title “Running Through The Fire” would be appropriate for Llew, when she finds herself on the run from Braph…

Yay for music. Yay for links between story and music. Yay for New Zealand music.

I’m a fan…

Oh, hey, if anyone can tell me where they buy (yes, buy, pay for, hand over moolah – I may be poor, but so is every artist!) their MP3’s from, I’d be most grateful. I have a website I use to buy NZ Music, which is great, but now and then I want to buy international stuff… I do not (and will not) use iTunes.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Music: New Zealand Music Month – Jordan Reyne: Don’t Look Down « Deb E. - May 3, 2013

    […] Music: New Zealand Music Month – Anika Moa: Running Through The Fire (deberelene.com) […]

  2. Music: New Zealand Music Month – Oh My… « Deb E. - May 4, 2013

    […] Music: New Zealand Music Month – Anika Moa: Running Through The Fire (deberelene.com) […]

Wanna talk about it?

