What I’m reading

DebE —  April 9, 2013 — 2 Comments

I’m yet to decide if I’m organised enough to turn this into a regular feature, but I thought I would let you take a peak at what’s on my bookshelf… or rather, Kobo.

For this exercise today, I am going to use my Goodreads bookshelf as a reference… it has 10 books on it, we’ll see how we go…

(listen while I curse WordPress for repeatedly removing my line breaks… grrr)

 Siren Snow Cover Title: Siren Snow

Author: Victoria Barrow

Current Reading Progress: 87%

I will reserve a full review until I have completed it, for obvious reasons, but I am quite enjoying this.

The YA Paranormal genre is not a favourite of mine – I have yet to read anything labelled as such that blows me away – but I like what Ms. Barrow has done here with a witch and her guardian and familiar (a kind of guide in animal form). There are several original ideas in play.

 The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie Title: The Blade Itself

Author: Joe Abercrombie

Current Reading Progress: 6%

I started reading this because I find my own writing improves when I am reading the kind of stuff I want to write… makes sense, right? Nothing against anything else I’m reading, it’s just that this is where my compass is pointed. Not to say I’ll ever be “the next Joe Abercrombie”. For one thing, I like a touch of romance too much to avoid it like he does. Fact is, though, I like his writing style and I like the complexity of his characters. He is, without a doubt, one of my writing idols.

 A Dance In Winter by Sonya Lano Title: A Dance In Winter

Author: Sonya Lano

Current Reading Progress: 35%

This is a collection of short stories and poems written by my good friend Sonya. I met Sonya through online writing website Jottify when she discovered the chapters of Healer’s Touch I had up there last year (2012). We soon learned that we had a mutual respect for each other’s writing. I’m not usually a short story or poetry fan, so this is outside my comfort zone (I love delving into characters and watching them grow), but I am certainly finding it enjoyable as a look into the dangers and rewards of falling in love.

Sonya is at work on some longer fiction (lots and lots of longer fiction), but if you’re keen to see what she has to offer, I highly recommend this, or her novella, Never Trust A Prince.

 Call of the Herald by Brian Rathbone Title: Call of the Herald

Author: Brian Rathbone

Current Reading Progress: 51%

The beginning of an epic fantasy series, Call of the Herald follows Catrin, a girl of humble origins as she learns of her significant place in the world and what that means for her and those she loves.On the whole, very enjoyable, but I guess these days I’m finding a hankering for a certain pace in the books I read – I write fast-paced, I seek fast-paced. This isn’t. So I’m taking a break at the moment, with the intention of completing it later – hopefully next month!

For those who love the slower pace taken by most epic fantasies, I suspect you’ll love this. The characters are all pretty easy to like and so far it has been a fun and interesting read.

 Blood Song Anthony Ryan Title: Blood Song

Author: Anthony Ryan

Current Reading Progress: 81%

I started reading this a while ago – a month or so – and things were going great. I looked forward to sitting down to read it, and was enjoying the adventure. Somewhere along the way, though, the initial attraction lost its sparkle and the reading became a bit of a chore. I think there is still potential here, I mean, the book has a HUGE number of 5 star reviews on both Goodreads and Amazon – a way higher percentage than I could ever dream of for my own work, and even higher, I think, than some authors that I would acknowledge as true greats. Make of that what you will… I know some reviewers have made certain speculations.

Anyway, for a clearly loved book, this has a ton of typos and awkward sentences. But it’s not really about that, is it? It’s about the story, and it starts well… All books have a bit of a saggy middle, and with this one being over 600 pages, that saggy middle is looong. I just hope the ending makes up for it… I guess I’ll find out once I psych myself up to continue on with it. I intend to…

I neither endorse or rubbish this one… it’s really up to the individual reader!

Title: True Blood Omnibus

Author: Charlaine Harris

Current Reading Progress: 49%

(Finding cover images and sticking them in takes time and energy I have run out of!)

This is three books in one. I bought it because I love the TV series. I gotta say, though, that the first book is terrible! The only thing that kept me going was my love of the show… and picturing Eric, mmmmm….

Wait, what? Where was I? Oh…

Yeah. Second book is much better. But it’s been so long since I picked it up I can’t remember much detail. I just lost interest after a while. I guess that’s the danger of people seeing the show before they read your work…

Title: Steampunk! An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories

Primary Editor: Kelly Link

Current Reading Progress: 55% (Hardback)

I bought this as an introduction to Steampunk literature. While I love the concepts that make up steampunk, first and foremost I read for character, and short stories don’t really get me there. I have loved some of the ideas presented here, and think they’d make some great bases to a bigger story, I’m just not loving it – and that’s my own problem with short fiction… I just can’t get into it. There are some stunning concepts here, though. I highly recommend.

Title: The Black Lung Captain

Author: Chris Wooding

Current Reading Progress: 9% (Paperback)

I bought this for the steampunk. Seems interesting enough, and well-written, I just haven’t got into it. But, then, I haven’t really given it a chance. Part of that may be my preference for digital now (I can turn off my bedlamp and disturb my husband less)… I will have to let you know when I get back to giving it a real shot.

Title: Luther: The Calling

Author: Neil Cross

Current Reading Progress: 11%

Um… I’m just gonna copy and paste my last Goodreads update (from a year ago… I do still intend to read it… I wanted to try a different genre, but anyway…):

I am seriously questioning whether or not I will finish this STOP It reads like a screenplay STOP Or, a whole bunch of telegraphs strung together STOP The sentences are all pretty much the same length STOP and the ones that are longer have a comma to keep the rhythm the same as if the sentence shorter STOP There is very little internalization STOP I tried reading with a British accent … didn’t improve.

Well, gosh, that took me a LONG time to compile… If I do this again, I’ll just summarise the books I’m actively reading (that are different from those I’m reading here). I’d like to do a little more reviewing here, though… I don’t know, just cos it might be fun. We’ll see what arises.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

2 responses to What I’m reading

  1. 

    I may have to take a look at a few of these now!

    • 

      As a new and Indie author myself, I do love giving new and Indie authors a bit of a spotlight – and many of these are. But there is a real range of success with reading the Indies and Self-Pubbers, I gotta say! When I find one I love, the world will know about it. Sonya is most definitely on my “to watch” list…

Wanna talk about it?

