Pretty Pictures: Chino (Miniature Horse)

DebE —  February 2, 2013 — 5 Comments

Hey all.

So this week was the Healer’s Touch release day (the 31st). Pretty exciting times. Strange times, though. Everyone starts asking, “How are the sales going?”. My answer? “I don’t know”. I mean, I can guess, but really I have no idea. I have no way to check each and every sales channel and find out numbers and combine them to know anything… So, I don’t know.

Plus, unlike the big publishers that start getting reviews and building excitement months (sometimes a year or so) in advance, we didn’t do that. We’ve been hunting reviews in the weeks leading up to the release, but reviewers are pretty busy and some flat out won’t look at Indie Authors/Small Publishers. So, it’s a steep climb. It’s a “Hurry up and wait”… You put the book out there, and then you wait for it to take off… hopefully… (o: But you don’t sit back. You keep looking for someone to review it, and other ways to let people know it exists. That’s the big thing. No matter how good a book is, how are you going to sell it if people don’t know about it? So, each and every person who says “I read this book and it was awesome”, I love you.

Anyway, I felt like getting away from Books. I wanted to share a contrast I’ve noticed. I mean, I’ve seen this coming… but still… Check this out:

This is my mini horse, Chino, the day I bought him:

Purchase Day

The day we met

This was the end of October (in the Southern Hemisphere)… spring time, so he still had a pretty decent winter coat on him. He was also born further south than I live – generally colder down there! He was just a year old, and I thought he was gorgeous.

Oh… heh… My parents were out of town for the weekend. But it was my dad’s birthday, so we spoke on the phone… My announcement? “Happy Birthday, dad. I bought me a horse!” …

And this was him this weekend just been (he’s 5 now):

Chino sleek

Chino – Summer 2012/13

Sleek, huh? Lost all his fluff, finally (he still had some when we took him to the beach mid-December!). He only loses it for a week or two in January-February, and then it starts growing ready for winter again…I don’t clip him because I don’t live with him, so getting over there when he does or doesn’t need a blanket isn’t always straight forward. Simpler to let him look after himself in that department. I don’t show him, so no worries on that score. He lets me have the joy of having and working with a horse without the expense and harder work of a full-sized one. I trim his hooves myself and the property owners live in a house on the property, so someone’s always around to keep an eye on him if I can’t get over as much as I like. I dream of a day when I can buy a place to have him just outside… one day, one day… (So, what are you waiting for! Go help me promote my book! … ah… yeah…)

But notice the roaning… he isn’t the strongly tri-coloured pinto I picked up that day. But, I’m loving the white marking that have developed on his face, and I just adore the very Arab-esque (short, wide) shape of his head.

Just goes to show, when you buy a horse, there is no point buying on colours! Especially prior to 5 years… He was one when I got him.

Here are some other snaps through the years:

Chino as a newbie

Cutie

Chino as a weanling

Chino clipped at 6mths

Chino for sale

How I fell in love with him… – one of his Auction photos

Asleep on my boot

Asleep on my boot. Our first summer, we spent a LOT of time together.

Gorgeous

Looking gorgeous! I just adore this photo.

Saddle

2 years – First time in saddle

Total trust… He sorta looks at the saddle with a “What is that?” look, but never gets upset about it. I’ve put it on him a few times. We haven’t had kids ride him, yet… Not long, though. I think he’ll be fine. He’s so laid back. That’s Topaz with him. Topaz belongs to the property owner.

Anyway… I could do this forever, but I had better stop before I run out of media space!

Yay, self-indulgence! (o:

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

5 responses to Pretty Pictures: Chino (Miniature Horse)

  1. 

    Yup the part you never hear about being an author is marketing. It is a slow climb, but we’ll get there. I like your horse though. Kinda looks my horse, but mine is a lot fatter.

    • 

      I had read in a few places how much time marketing can and would take up… I’m so glad I don’t have to do it entirely alone, I can tell you! The thing about marketing is that it goes completely against the grain as far as being an author. I mean, I don’t mind flicking an email here or there, but walking into a place? Handing over marketing materials? Or doing in-person interviews? Urgh! Not my style, no-siree.

      The first year we had these boys they got a bit chunky, but the land-owner is really mindful of their weight, which is great. Mind you, the last few years have seen some pretty stunted grass-growth. This year, we’re finally getting the sun to help out, but not the rain… hmmm…

  2. 

    He has changed so much! That is wild.
    Best of luck on the marketing! I just put my review on goodreads, I guess I should put it on amazon too… 🙂

    • 

      Hasn’t he, though? I’m trying to decide if I’m upset or not. I mean, I love the striking colours he had originally, but I have enjoyed watching him change each year, too. It can also depend on whether or not I blanket him in winter. The last time I did, he stayed really dark.
      Any and all help in getting a few copies sold is appreciated, so, thanks!

Wanna talk about it?

