Author Interview: Paige Daniels

DebE —  January 27, 2013 — 2 Comments

Howdy folks. Another one of these things. They’re kind of fun. And I’m just doing a few ’cause it’s that time in the lead up to release day when publicity is needed on a grand scale… like, a massive scale… and probably should have been done ages ago… oh well. I am open to the idea of more author interviews, if you’re keen. I might even pick a day of the week to do them…

Today’s Interviewee is Paige Daniels. Paige is a fellow Kristell Ink author whose book, Non-Compliance:The Sector released in November. It’s a gritty tale about a post-war America in which the citizens have, mostly, been convinced to accept having microchips inserted into the backs of their necks… for their own safety, some may believe. Others might see it as government control… and those are the people you’ll likely find in the Non-Compliance Sectors – areas where those who refuse to be chipped must fend for themselves. So, what would you choose? The cosy lifestyle and the chip? Or hard-won autonomy?

Take it away, Paige:

The Author performing chemistry experiments with her daughter

The Author performing chemistry experiments with her daughter

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in San Antonio, Texas and I currently live in Indiana

Tell us about something that has just happened or is about to happen in your life that you would like to share.

The biggest thing is that “Non-Compliance: The Sector” was released November 12th. That’s pretty big for me. Other than that being a mom, working, and writing pretty much consumes my life.

What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 30 or less words, what would you say?

 “Non-Compliance: The Sector”: Nerdy chicks kick ass.

If you gave one of your characters an opportunity to speak for themselves, what would they say?

 If I gave Quinn a chance to speak he would grumble, call me a dumbass, and walk away.

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?

 Yes, there are three books in the Non-Compliance series I’m going through perfecting the second and plotting out the third now. I’ve written a couple of short stories that have given me some ideas.

What books have influenced your writing?

1984, Kim Harrison’s Hallows Series, Snowcrash, I’m sure there are more, but those are the ones that come to mind immediately.
Is there an Author that you would really like to meet?

Since Isaac Asimov is dead I guess Kim Harrison

Do you prefer ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover?

I’m not picky, but ebooks are really starting to grow on me. I can take them anywhere. I don’t have much time to read so if I’m just waiting around in a doctor’s office or for a meeting to start it’s kind of nice to be able to take my phone out and read a couple of pages on my Kindle app.

Where do you prefer to buy your books?

I live in the country so I rarely get to a “real” bookstore so Amazon gets most of my business

What book would you like to read again?

1984 it’s been awhile since I’ve read that one and I’ve been wanting to read I, Robot again

Is there a particular movie that you preferred over the book version?

Okay, I’m going to come out of the closet now and lose all of my author points. I’m preparing to be shunned from all writing communities as we speak. Are you ready? LOTR. There I said it. The books were kind of slow for me. I feel better now that I’ve said that out loud.

What book are you currently reading and in what format (ebook/paperback/hardcover)?

Nothing now, but I have a couple on my list “Ever After” Kim Harrison and “Alien Proliferation” Gini Koch.

Are there any Authors that have grasped your interest recently and why?

Gini Koch. I was looking at a site that is going to review my book and they had her book on their list too. The cover was cool and I checked it out and it looked original and interesting so I figured what the hell. I have to be honest for the first few chapters I wasn’t so sure about it, but I’m three books deep into the series and I can say the Alien series are like crack. They are the perfect escape. I rarely re-read books, but I find myself going to my Kindle app now and again to re-read some of my favorite parts just to laugh. It’s like an action packed comic with hot sex and hilarious lines. Seriously, I can’t stop reading about Jeff Martini and Kitty Katt/Martini.

Who designed the cover of your book?

My cousin’s daughter Kayla Keeton came up with the concept, because I’m not very good with the arty stuff. Then we gave this concept to Josh DeLava and he drew it.

Do you have a book trailer?

Yes, and it rocks

What are your thoughts on book trailers?

I was unsure, but I had a review that specifically said he bought the book because of the trailer so I guess it was worth it.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

I guess just write what you like.

Do you write under a pen name?

Yes, my real name is Tina Closser

What date were you born? – you can leave off the year if you like.

April 20th gulp 1975

If you could date any celebrity, who would it be and why?

My crush on Adam Baldwin is well known far and wide except for maybe by Adam Baldwin. I loved the way he played Jayne Cobb [Firefly] and John Casey [Chuck]. His deadpan delivery of his lines just kills me. Plus I’m a sucker for big guys. A little secret: Quinn Knightly is kind of based on some of his characters and my husband.

Do you ever write in your PJ’s?

Yes pretty much all the time

You are planning the most awesome dinner party of your life. Which 3 celebrities/historical figures (past or present) would you add to your guest list to keep the dinner talk interesting?

Jesus – I’d want to pick his brain about a few things I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t lie to me.

Stephen Hawking – Because he’s cool and I’d like to talk physics with him and feel stupid.

Adam Baldwin – See answer above.

Do you play a musical instrument?

I “play” the viola. I took it up when my daughter started taking violin. I wanted to show her even old people can learn new things. I’ve been playing for about two years.

Most frequent song played?

Right now I’m working on a piece called the Minstrel Boy.

Most hated chore on the household chore list?

Vacuuming the stairs, dusting, laundry, grocery shopping, cleaning the bathroom …

Do you have any hidden talents?

No, okay, maybe one. Um, I bellydance

Once, just to attract attention, I…

I wrote a book

Rusty in the backyard

Rusty in the backyard

Any pets that you would like to tell us about?

Three dogs, two cats, a donkey, and a mini horse

White wine or red?

Beer

Coffee or tea?

Diet coke

Do you like to cook? Do you have a favorite food?

I love to cook. I love all food this is my problem

Vanilla or chocolate ice-cream?

Chocolate Vanilla swirl

What do you normally eat for breakfast, of do you skip it and get straight to work?

Oatmeal and egg whites or Ezekiel Bread and egg whites or poptart and a diet coke

What are 4 things you never leave home without (apart from keys, money and phone)?

iPhone, lip balm, my kids, my husband, I’m lucky if I remember those things
Sleep in or get up early?

Sleep in
Laptop or desktop for writing?

laptop
Your favorite gadget –

iPhone or multitool

Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?

I write after the kids go to bed in my kitchen, which is open to the living room. Usually, my husband watches TV while I write. He has to endure a barrage of “Honey! What would you do if you were surrounded by a bunch of gang punks with knives?” type of questions.
Your thoughts on receiving book reviews – the good and the bad –

I love them all
Where is one place in the world that you would really love to visit someday?

Sanity

One of your favorite quotes –

“Give me some sugar, baby” – Bruce Campbell Army of Darkness
List 3 books you just recently read and would recommend?

I Thought I knew You by Katie Moretti – I generally don’t read contemporary romances but I liked this one

Alien in the Family by Gini Koch – Fun fun stuff. If you’re looking for a super serious read this isn’t it, but these novels take me away to a place where I don’t care about reality.

Stone Cold by David Baldacci – Kind of a political thriller a real page turner this is the third in a series. I highly recommend the whole series.

List 3 of your favorite movies?

Serenity, Rush’s 30th Anniversary Tour (Does that count?), Coal Miner’s Daughter (Stop laughing, I’m serious)
If your book was made into a TV series or Movie, what actors would you like to see playing your characters?

Shea – Cote de Pablo [Ziva from NCIS]

Quinn – Adam Baldwin

Wynne – Jewel Staite

Nikki – Yvonne Strahovski or Ali Larter

Danny Rose – Justin Hartley

Boss – Edward James Olmos

Frank – Danny Devito

Where can your readers stalk you?

My blog: www.nerdypaige.com
My facebook page:www.facebook.com/paigedanielsauthor
My Goodreads author page:www.goodreads.com/PaigeDaniels
Twitter: @tclosser

Is your book in Print, ebook or both? Both

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

2 responses to Author Interview: Paige Daniels

  1. 

    Paige, you’re not alone with the Lord of the Rings movies. I find the books BORING. I’m also one of the only people walking the planet who doesn’t like anything Harry Potter…books, movies, anything. Not my cup of tea. Great interview, ladies. Firefly is da bomb! That is all. 🙂

    • 

      I gotta admit, I didn’t love the books, either. Great tale, and all, but I do like a faster pace. I guess that’s just life these days!
      I did like Harry Potter (the books, anyway), though. I haven’t seen all the movies, yet.
      Firefly *is* da bomb!

Wanna talk about it?

