Author Interview: Chris Stocking

DebE —  January 22, 2013 — 10 Comments

Fellow author and blogger, Christopher Stocking’s first purely YA novella, “His Only Star”, was released this week. I’ve been a follower and friend of Chris for some time now. He’s a good keen storyteller, and I really look forward to seeing his writing career take off, as I’m sure it will in the not too distant future.

Christopher Stocking - Author

Chris Stocking – Author

So, without further ado, take it away, Chris:

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in Dansville, NY, and that is also where I currently reside. I live in an apartment with my wife, and another friend. However, my wife and I are looking for our own apartment in a different town.  

Tell us about something that has just happened or is about to happen in your life that you would like to share.

I’m very excited that my first ever YA novella is about to be published soon. I almost always write sci-fi/fantasy/Steampunk, so it’s cool that I’m getting into a different genre.

What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 30 or less words, what would you say?

“His Only Star” 30 words or less, eh? Let’s see: Boy and girl run away on a train. Boy loves girl, wants girl to love him back. Girl is from a broken home. Drugs and sex are her life.

That was tough!

If you gave one of your characters an opportunity to speak for themselves, what would they say?

My characters speak for themselves in my books all the time! But I guess if Ryker Mayson were here right now, he would say “Bloody hell, that’s a long list of interview questions!”

Ha!

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?

I’m currently working on the 3rd book in my “London Darkness” series, “London Darkness: Automaton Rising.” The 2nd book, “London Darkness: War of the Devices,” is due to be out this month.

What books have influenced your writing?

All of them. But, specifically, Stephen King’s “On Writing” helped a lot. And the “Leviathan” trilogy by Scott Westerfeld. Excellent Steampunk.

Is there an Author that you would really like to meet?

Scott Westerfeld, preferably.

Do you prefer ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover?

I prefer paperbacks or hardcover, but I’m not opposed to ebooks. I just love that new book smell. Plus, my wife and I would like to have a library in our home someday.

Where do you prefer to buy your books?

Wherever they are for sale!

Indeed. I publish through Createspace/KDP. I used to publish through Lulu, but I’ve found Createspace to be much, much better.

What book would you like to read again?

The Book Thief” and “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.”

Is there a particular movie that you preferred over the book version?

Not really. I like books, and I like movies. I also like movies based on books. They may not be as good, but who am I to judge? I’ve never tried to convert a book to a movie before. I imagine it’s quite difficult.

What book are you currently reading and in what format (ebook/paperback/hardcover)?

Currently I’m reading the hardcover edition of “Divergent” by Veronica Roth.

Are there any Authors that have grasped your interest recently and why?

Scott Westerfeld. His “Leviathan” series was amazon. Paired with the sketched by Keith Thompson, it was some of the best Steampunk I’ve read in quite some time.

Who designed the cover of your book?

Me!

Do you buy a book by the cover?

Absolutely.

Do you have a book trailer?

Nope. I lack the funds/know-how

What are your thoughts on book trailers?

I hear they’re good. But I imagine it would be expensive to put out a good one.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write every day.

Do you write under a pen name?

No.

What date were you born? – you can leave off the year if you like.

 

August 30th, 1990


Do you have a nickname? 

Does Chris count? My full first name is Christopher, so…

Did you have a favorite toy as a child?

I absolutely LOVED Lincoln Logs and those green and tan plastic soldiers!

An early childhood memory – 

Writing in the library at school almost every day, (except weekends, of course).

Do you ever write in your PJ’s?

I can honestly say I’ve never written while only wearing boxers. Ha!

What are your pet peeves? 

Bad grammar, though I try not to point it out to people. I’m no grammar expert. And ignorance on a mass scale.

Any pets that you would like to tell us about, share a pic?

Stu the Cat

Stu the Cat, but don’t stew the cat.

Stu, my cat! My wife dressed him up in a scarf!

White wine or red?

White. The sweeter the better, to a certain extent. I like grape juice, but I like to know when I’m drinking wine, too.

Coffee or tea?

Both. But, more often than not, coffee.

So you like to cook? Do you have a favorite food?

Cooking is alright, I suppose. Not particularly. I like everything except grapefruit.

Vanilla or chocolate ice-cream?

Vanilla!

What do you normally eat for breakfast, of do you skip it and get straight to work?

I almost never eat breakfast, unless my wife makes me.


What are 4 things you never leave home without (apart from keys, money and phone)?

A notepad and two pens. Everything else I can’t list, haha.

Sleep in or get up early?

Up early if possible. If I get up after 9 a.m. I feel like the day is half gone.

Laptop or desktop for writing?

Laptop. I don’t own a desktop.


Your favorite gadget – 

My phone, I suppose. Or my Kindle Fire HD.


Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?

Usually at my kitchen table because I lack an office… for now. And I try to write as often as possible. Usually it’s in the evening.

Your thoughts on receiving book reviews – the good and the bad – 

You get good ones and bad ones. Nothing you can do about it. You can’t please everyone, so don’t get down on yourself when you get a bad review. But make sure you feel damn good when you get a good one! You deserve it!

If you were deserted on an island, who are 3 famous people you would want with you?

I can’t think of many famous people. Stephen King, Anne Rice, and Cherie Priest. The conversation would be amazing.

Where is one place in the world that you would really love to visit someday?

London! Hopefully my wife and I will be going there on our official honeymoon.


One of your favorite quotes –

I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of.” – Joss Whedon

List 3 books you just recently read and would recommend?

Leviathan

Behemoth

On Writing

List 3 of your favorite movies?

Fight Club

Cinderella Man

The Lord of the Rings (We’ll count the trilogy as one movie 😉 )

An actor or a book character you have a crush on –

I would have to say Emma Watson.

What is a movie or TV show that you watched just recently and really enjoyed?

The Life of Pi

Where can your readers stalk you?

My blog: http://www.writetoperfect.wordpress.com
My facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/authorcstocking
My Goodreads author page: http://www.goodreads.com/Cstocking
Twitter: @Chris_Stocking
Amazon: Search for “Christopher Stocking” not “Chris Stocking.”
Is your book in Print, ebook or both? Both

Thanks Chris!

All the best for “His Only Star”. And wishing you all the best for your future endeavours.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

10 responses to Author Interview: Chris Stocking

  1. 

    Thanks for having me, Deb! 😀

  2. 

    Great interview, Stu does not look pleased with his attire!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Author Interview: Chris Stocking « Write to Perfect - January 22, 2013

    […] Author Interview: Chris Stocking. […]

  2. Author Interview: Me! « Deb E - January 23, 2013

    […] mate, Chris Stocking, interviewed me over on his blog, Write to Perfect. My interview with Chris, here, resulted in the busiest day ever on my blog, with something like 60 visits (68, I checked… […]

  3. [BBB] Shadow of the Wraith by Ross Harrison « Deb E. - September 4, 2013

    […] Lulu […]

  4. Author Interview: Chris Stocking « Deb E. - March 25, 2014

    […] interviewed Chris before, but it often pays to revisit people, especially old favourites (no, Chirs isn’t old… […]

Wanna talk about it?

