Headache solved!

DebE —  January 12, 2013 — 7 Comments

And because it bothered me for nigh on 24hrs, I’m going to save you the trouble… ‘Cos, you know, you’re going to strike EXACTLY the same problem I did… Um… Yeah… probably not. But, I’m going to share, anyway, because I care.

So, yesterday, I was getting a little help with entertaining my son from Youtube. He loves the “Mahna Mahna” song, so we often have that repeating over and over and over and over… You get the idea. Anyway, sometimes he wants to go off the tangents that Youtube suggests at the end of the video, That’s fine, it’s all Muppets and Barney and stuff… Often, it’s Animal drumming! Which is great. Toddler does love drums. Which is cool – his dad plays them. Anyway… We ended up playing this video:

Neat little number… funny, and all that. But… right at the very start the guys says “Do you expect me to play this, man?” And I’m like: “I’ve heard that. In a song…. But which song? Gah! Which song? What song was it?! Aaaaarrrrghhh!” Yeah. Something like that. All I could hear in my head was that quote… no backing music to help me… nada.

Somewhere around 20 hours later, and who knows why… but there it is… hijacking my brain… that line “Do you expect me to play this, man?”… and guess what? There is music to go with it… I know the song immediately! Problem solved. I am happy.

And no, most of you guys will never have this problem… this is Kiwi band, Supergroove… ~2mins7sec in, you will hear the quote above… I’m guessing sampled directly from The Muppets…

My work here… is done.

**Ah… and that’s a sample of Miss Piggy, earlier… wow. I’ve been familiar with this song for so long and I never knew…

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

7 responses to Headache solved!

  1. 

    Loool! That’s hilarious. Cute lead singer

    • 

      Which one? The Muppets Jazz guy, or Che Fu (Supergroove)? Heh heh… I was always a fan of Karl (the skinny white guy in Supergroove)…

      I guess the thing about this situation is that it’s much like writing… sometimes you just have to go off and do other stuff, and then your sub-conscious will work out what it was you were looking for…

  2. 

    I love how you relate this conundrum to writing. 😉

    “I guess the thing about this situation is that it’s much like writing… sometimes you just have to go off and do other stuff, and then your sub-conscious will work out what it was you were looking for.”

    I work the same way.

    • 

      (o:

      That thought only came to me because that is how I’ve had to switch to working for the latest scene… just walk away, don’t force the issue and let my subconscious sort it when I’m least expecting it. I’m getting there!

  3. 

    Wow, Supergroove is awesome. I will have to get some of their stuff.

    Have you heard Cake’s version of “Mahna Mahna”? Excellent Cake-flavored cover.

    • 

      Supergroove are/were awesome! Way ahead of their time. They were big here in the ’90s. Broke up for a while. Got back together a few years ago… not sure where they’re at these days. 7 members, lots of trumpets/sax & funk. A great mix of rock & rap. I will have to find Cake’s “Mahna Mahna”… I bet it is awesome. Cake are very cool.

Wanna talk about it?

