Horsey Fun & I Suck At Stuff

DebE —  November 12, 2012 — 2 Comments

Do you know how many times I hovered over the WordPress drop down menu and clicked on the link to go to my home page, rather than going one step further to click on the link to create a new post? Five or six. I didn’t think it was important enough to start counting… maybe even seven. Enough times, anyway, to put my head in my hands. Yes, yes I did…

Topaz giving a ride (2009)

Anyway, I thought it had been some time since I shared a little slice-of-life type post, and I thought I’d do one tonight, because, well, for once, I did something vaguely interesting in my weekend. Woot!

To celebrate a friend of a friend’s daughter’s (with me?) 4th birthday, we (me, hubby, toddler, friend, friend’s friend) took said 4 year old girl over to visit our miniature horse, Chino, and all his paddock mates. I also led her older brother for a wee pony ride on Chino’s friend, Topaz (Topaz is 9 and has given many kids wee rides, Chino just turned 5 and, while I have spent a lot of time making him pretty unflappable over the last few years, I’d rather wait until Josh is old enough to ride him, rather than testing him out on someone else’s kid… just in case). Anyway, unfortunately, I didn’t take photos yesterday, but I have some pics of Chino below, if you like.

The Day Chino met Topaz

Within days of bringing Chino home, I introduced him to Griffin

Chino meets his first child visitor

Copy cats

Chino sleeps on my boot!

Gorgeous!

First time with a saddle on (2009) – 2yrs

Winter 2012

Anyway, that’s my little self-indulgent slide show.

Technically, and legally, I consider these images mine. But, this is the internet, so I suppose someone will “borrow” them. Mostly I’d prefer you didn’t use ones with people in them. Just sayin’.

Oh, yeah… and if you’re still here, here’s a treat. I once made a video of the boys…

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

2 responses to Horsey Fun & I Suck At Stuff

  1. 

    Those ponies are adorable. I’ve always had a soft spot for Shetland ponies. I wanted one when we lived in England. My parents didn’t share the same desire. lol

    • 

      Hi Stina, thanks for dropping by. I’ve been receiving your blog emails for a while, now, just don’t always have anything to say as far as commenting!
      Yep, I’ve loved horses since I was a tot. Still can’t afford ($$ or time) a full-size one, but a littlie is a nice compromise!

Wanna talk about it?

