The Next Big Thing!

DebE —  November 7, 2012 — 10 Comments

Or, to quote many a Brisco County Jr episode “The coming thing”… Yep, I think I’ve just set up a mission in the back of my mind to rebuild interest in that early ’90s show (not that I expect a remake… it wouldn’t be the same without Bruce Campbell, and John Pyper Ferguson… I love Pete). And if you don’t know what tangents I am disappearing off to there, I suggest you go learn! It’s worth a few giggles.

Right, on with the show… I mean post.

Do you want to play a game? No, this isn’t some weird ‘Saw’ horror malarky, but a game of ‘blog tag’ that’s circulating at the moment. I was tagged by Sammy HK Smith, who writes in a variety of genres. She would describe her current project, ‘Anna’, as Speculative Literary fiction, but I’ll let her explain that to you!

The blog tag game involves answering questions about your current work in progress.

What is the working title of your book?

I honestly don’t have one. I suck at titles. All I’ve got to work with at the moment is that it’s the sequel to Healer’s Touch and I have it in mind to call it Warrior’s… something, or Soldier’s… something. You get where I’m going. I’m still pondering.

What genre does your book fall under?

Well, first and foremost, I would say Fantasy. But I think it deserves a subgenre. Now, this is either going to be Steampunk, or Weird West, depending on what I settle on. When I say Steampunk, I think most people think Victorian England, whereas I think Victorian Western US States. Or even Victorian New Zealand (which I think combines the two, because we had fresh settlers from the British Isles, but we were very much taming a frontier at the time).

Give a brief synopsis of your book.

Well, without giving too much away, this book continues on where Healer’s Touch left off.

So let’s give a run down of that first.

Llew is a girl on the cusp of a world of trouble. She’s always known she could heal herself, at a cost to whatever she was touching at the time, but when she learns she can actually come back from the dead, she leaves such a mess she can’t keep her secret any longer. To make matters worse, she finds herself in the company of a man whose job it is to kill her kind. Luckily, he seems to like her enough to hesitate when he learns what she is. Unfortunately, his Captain is not so afflicted, though he does see some potential benefits in keeping Llew alive… for now.

Adventure, a little romance, and disaster ensues… And so we go on to Book 2.

My main protagonist, Llew, has finally got herself some friends and a family of sorts. Just in time, too, because her world is about to be turned upside down. During the course of Healer’s Touch, the antagonistic forces were only dimly aware of Llew’s existence. Now they know and they’re coming for her. Still unsure who she can trust, Llew must learn to control her power before she kills those who would help her, while staying out of the clutches of those who would use her.

Where did the idea come from for the book?


Erm… OK. Well, the “Healing/Draining” idea is one I had back in high school (too long ago now). Where it came from, I don’t remember. At the time, I sort of developed a comic book character with that power. Male, of course (I was a teenage girl!).

Anyway, jump many, many years ahead and I was rediscovering my joy of writing. I’d started a story that I decided I’d like to turn into a fantasy. That requires magic, right? But I didn’t feel like writing another magician. And so my old character popped into mind and I stole his power and gave it to Llew. Yep. I am that mean.

Probably my biggest breakthrough with this story, though, was when I developed Braph, my antagonist. I decided to do the whole magician thing afterall, but with a Steampunk twist – magic like that isn’t natural in my world, but it can be created through science. You’ll see a lot more of Braph in this book.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Again, erm…

OK. Here goes. In all honesty, when I think of Jonas, I think of Josh Brolin in The Young Riders (Season 3). There, I said it.

Llew, I picture a little bit like Charlize Theron, ‘cos I think she’s gorgeous.

For Braph, I rather like Ian Somerhalder. I think he’d have fun with it.

But really, who knows? If my story turns out to be movie material, by the time anyone got around to making it, the big names in acting would be kids I have no clue about. I’ll let Hollywood decide!

Tag!

Let’s go for … Chris Stocking, J.T.Webster, Kura Carpenter, Ruth Peoples, and Merry Farmer

And for those still here, here’s a wee treat:

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

10 responses to The Next Big Thing!

  1. 

    Hi, Deb. Steampunk western sounds great, and I’m looking forward to seeing you progress. Nice looking blog, too!

  2. 

    Well, “Brisco County Jr.” is certainly a blast from the past. I hadn’t thought about that show since, well, since the pilot aired. 😉 I had NO idea that was Bruce Campbell of “Evil Dead” fame. He is so hilarious. Back when I watched “Burn Notice,” I watched it mainly because of him. But then it got too stupid so I quit.

    • 

      Yep, good ol’ Bruce. I LOVED “Brisco County” back then. Recently re-watched it. Didn’t find it quite as hilarious, well, until the last 4-6 eps or so… once the John Bly storyline was done with, and they brought Pete Hutter back, it really picked up. Could have had quite a future…

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Six Sentence Sunday – You Look Better Naked #SixSunday « Deb E - December 2, 2012

    […] For more info on Warrior’s Touch, check out this old post […]

  2. Six Sentence Sunday – Now she knows… #SixSunday « Deb E - December 9, 2012

    […] For more info on Warrior’s Touch, check out this old post […]

  3. Six Sentence Sunday – Not All Right #Six Sunday « Deb E - December 16, 2012

    […] For more info on Warrior’s Touch, check out this old post […]

  4. Six Sentence Sunday – Trouble Brewing #SixSunday « Deb E - December 30, 2012

    […] For more info on Warrior’s Touch, check out this old post […]

Wanna talk about it?

