Work In Progress Challenge

DebE —  September 29, 2012 — 4 Comments

I just got “tagged” by R E Hunter of Writing & Random Thoughts with the Work In Progress Challenge. I’m supposed to answer the following ten questions about my Work In Progress (WIP).

I’m in an interesting situation in that I am in the process of finishing off the WIP I have been working on for the past nearly four years (yes, ouch!) – it has been accepted for publication by Kristell Ink, and is due out early 2013. In the meantime, I will be going on with the next book in the series. In that respect, many of these questions apply to both … So, I’ll answer as appropriate …

Cover by Me – Not the final cover (which will be done by someone with talent in that area)

1. What is the title of your book/WIP?

“Healer’s Touch” (completed). The next book is still in search of a title (although, I’m thinking something along the lines of “Warrior’s … [something]”, with a final part called “Magician’s … [something]” … yeah …)

2. Where did the idea for the WIP come from?
That could be a long story … I didn’t start out with any sort of plan, or idea. I had a couple of characters I wanted to “hook up”. When I started enjoying the writing, I decided to read up on what sort of things a story needed (a goal, an antagonist, stakes, etc) and the rest started to get tacked on until I had something I thought was quite exciting … and then I re-wrote.

I guess the main “idea” in this book is my MC’s power–she transfers life-energy (“ghi”, or “jin”, depending on which culture’s talking about it); so to heal herself or a friend, someone or something has to be injured … or killed. Now, that idea comes from a character I created when I was a teenager (a young male … I was a teenage girl, afterall). Where it came from before then, I don’t know … I was watching a lot of “Gargoyles” at the time …

3. What genre would your WIP fall under?
Fantasy (with a dollop of romance and a little steampunk)

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Well, now … Today? I don’t actually know. My main male MC has been shaped around a young Josh Brolin (think “The Young Riders“), although he has evolved from there. I have been taking notice of Jackson Rathbone, these days …

I like the idea of Ian Somerhalderas Braph (my antagonist) … yes, he would be nice.

I like the look of Charlize Theron, but my female MC is 17, nearly 18, so I don’t think that would work, unfortunately. Who are the cute female actresses these days? I’m out of the loop.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your WIP?
“A girl, whose power to heal also kills, fights to remain free.”

Something like that …

6. Is your WIP published or represented?

It is currently gearing up to be published by Kristell Ink.

That’s an odd question, isn’t it? How could a WIP be published? It wouldn’t be a WIP anymore if it was published, am I right?

7. How long did it take you to write?
I’ll say 3.5yrs.

I used to write for fun (for myself). I never thought of it as a hobby, it was just something I did. Then I went to university and fiction writing took a long hiatus for me. I didn’t notice – I had simply never really realised I did it.

A few years ago, I found myself out of permanent work and temping. The work was very basic with a lot of downtime, and I took up writing to entertain myself. That is exactly how this story started. It has morphed as I have learned, but I was always determined to see it through. In the mean time, I’ve also had a baby, now a toddler, and have been self-teaching myself the craft of writing. So, yes, 3.5yrs. The story was always there – even if I didn’t have the know-how to outline it properly until last year, and it’s taken this long to be able to execute it to something of the standard I wanted for it.

8. What other WIPs within your genre would you compare it to?
Other WIPs?? Hmm …

Other *novels*? Well, I really want to compare it to Brent Weeks

Cover of "The Black Prism (Lightbringer)&...

Cover of The Black Prism (Lightbringer)

The Black Prism“, but that might be giving myself too much praise (o: I think, though, that his style of writing does resonate with me because I’m not a lot different – quite a casual, easy-to-read style. I haven’t recently read another fantasy quite like “Healer’s Touch”, but that’s not to say it’s some magically unique work … I just haven’t read a lot of fantasy since having my son. I’ve read some Historical Romance, which it does have some similarities to, and I’ve read a little Steampunk, which is also in there … Yeah, hard to say specifically.

9. Which authors inspired you to write this WIP?
Ultimately? I guess David Eddings

When I took up my paper and pen, my goal was to write a story with characters I could fall in love with (and, eventually, that others might also fall for). And the first time that happened to me was when I read “The Balgariad” by David Eddings, as a teenager. Sure, I have many other favourites, but as far as setting that particular goal goes, that was the egg.

10. Tell us anything else that might pique our interest in this project.
Hmm … Well, I guess it depends what you are after. I like to think it has a bit of something for everybody, but that also risks it having something that everybody dislikes!

It’s a fantasy tale, but it breaks the normal fantasy mold … It’s based in a world more similar to the 1860s New Zealand/USA than the traditional medieval England.

My own passion for the story really ramped up when I learned about my main antagonist (in this book, he is pretty much it, but there will be more to come). He is a sympatheic antagonist – I’ve had mention he might almost be too easy to sympathise with! He’s clever, he’s inventive; he is what makes the story steampunk. He has mummy issues, and that’s basically where all his problems stem from (blame my love for “Criminal Minds”).
One last thing… Tag, You’re It
Now I’m supposed to tag other writers who are then “it” to write a blog post about their WIPs.

So here goes …

Sonya Lano (Watch this space, guys – this girl is going somewhere …)

Chris Stocking (Ditto – keep an eye out. And check out his work: “London Darkness: Infernal Inventions“)

Merry Farmer  (I really enjoy her blog, and I think I’d like to read her work, too … soon!)

Sorry, that’s all I’ve got for now!

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

4 responses to Work In Progress Challenge

  1. 

    Thanks for the Pingback honey 🙂

    Xx

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Final Goals Update for ROW80 Round 3, 2012 « shanjeniah - October 1, 2012

    […] Work In Progress Challenge (deberelene.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Six Sentence Sunday – You Look Better Naked #SixSunday « Deb E - December 2, 2012

    […] For more info on Warrior’s Touch, check out this old post […]

Wanna talk about it?

