New Post Title (Hey, I’m savin’ my creativity for my novel. You got a problem with that, punk?)

DebE —  September 11, 2012 — 4 Comments

Right, I was just noticing that I said I’d keep you informed how I went with that Manuscript Contest I entered (and, I would link to where I said that, and should be able to because I just read it … but I closed the post and I can’t remember which one … Lesson, kids? Erm … write … everything … down? Yeah … yeah … that’ll do). So, I thought I should tell you how I went …

Well …

I didn’t get third.

And, I didn’t get second.

Yeah, na, I didn’t get first either. Ha!

But, guess what? I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy not to win something.

It’s just, in the meantime, I found another publisher I’m keen to work with, and so far things are looking promising. We have a little fine tuning to go to finalize things, but I’m pretty hopeful. (They love my story and are keen to work with me. The next step is seeing if I can handle the editor ripping my first chapter to shreds, and if so, it should be all go).

I still have a lot of work to do, I don’t doubt that. I know my story was rushed to finish. I know there are a few things needing fleshed out. And then there was that scene I added just before submitting that will have repercussions for the rest of the book (but will make it all so … much … BETTER!). But it’s nice to have found someone with an interest in publishing and an interest in my story. It’s a relief.

I was going to self-publish, I really was. But, I did mention in a previous post (ha! I remembered that one!) that I was concerned about going it alone. Sure, when I have more time I’d be keen (unless I happen to find a really awesome team who I couldn’t imagine working without … hint, hint … be nice to me … ?). But the reality is, while I wish I could write full-time, it’s just not feasible now. I’m the mother of a toddler, and hope to be the mother of another child some time in the next year or two. Writing, while extremely important to me personally, just can’t be my number one priority right at this very second … well, the toddler’s asleep at the mo, and the hubby is still working, so right now? Yes, writing is number 1 … shh … don’t tell anyone, but it kinda piggy-backs everything else, too … shhh. Anyway. My point is that I’m keen to work with a small publisher (they don’t scare me as much as the big guns).

Anyway, suddenly it’s bed time.

So, I’ll let you know how it goes.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

4 responses to New Post Title (Hey, I’m savin’ my creativity for my novel. You got a problem with that, punk?)

  1. 

    Good news, Deb, all the best in this next stage

    • 

      Thanks, Kura.
      I still find myself bowing my head in modesty (shame?) when someone says they like my story – I’ve just been working with it so long, I don’t see much past its flaws. So, it really is time to be working with someone else – someone who can be excited on my behalf.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. The state of play … | Deb E - September 17, 2012

    […] a recent post I mentioned that I had struck up some back-and-forth with a small publisher. Well, right now I am […]

  2. Happy New Year! « Deb E - January 3, 2013

    […] I told you how that […]

Wanna talk about it?

