Cover Design: Play Time

DebE —  August 12, 2012 — 6 Comments

A play-time cover design idea for Healer's Touch

Mock-up cover design for “Healer’s Touch”

I decided to try my hand at putting together a mock-up cover design of my own making. I’m no qualified graphic designer by any means, but I had fun, and I quite like the results. Of course, in a year or two I may look back and wonder what I was thinking … who knows.

It doesn’t quite achieve the mood I’m after (although, it’s close), and I still have to finish the sketch of the girl – but that is taking ages on account of me having limited writing/drawing time and trying to fit both in. I think there is an “airiness” I’m missing, or something … something a little spooky, and/or sexy … But, it’s close to the image that hijacked my brain when I first read the title.

Anyway, it’s an example of what can be achieved by following instructions from GIMP tutorials.

The girl needs a little more work to complete her – more shadows to bring out the facial features and the like, a little more work on the hair, some details added to the dress, and I’m flip-flopping on the lace under-layer … It’s pretty hard to get right, so it’s very tempting to remove. But, I also quite like it … Choices, choices …

Anyway, it’s a starting point.

Anyone got any opinions?

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

6 responses to Cover Design: Play Time

  1. 

    I love it! I agree that she needs more shading (she’s quite pale). I might make the tree more gray than black because the black might be mistaken for a dark green and not the deadness you were going for. I’m sorry I don’t have more time to think about it but my mom doesn’t have the internet and I’m on at the library which is closing in 13 mins! Yikes! My mom just walked in with a look like “You’d better be ready to go, girl!” She’s walking over now… she’s here.
    I just asked her and she agreed with me about making the tree more gray than black. Also what about making the sky on that side grayer, too?
    Anyway, really need to go now!

    • 

      I’ll have to see what I can do for the tree. I’m pretty new to this photo manipulation stuff, but I’m sure there’s a way. The black just kind of happened when I did something else. As for the sky, I decided to leave it blue because she doesn’t affect the sky.
      I think the cover is having an effect, though. I seem to be picking up some readers on Authonomy and Wattpad (even got two new backers on Authonomy in the last two days … wish the rate would keep up like that!)

      • 

        Online for another few mins – just wanted to say maybe instead of gray make the leaves brown. Or you could just do bare branches – I’m not sure if the leaves fall off the trees that Llew kills or if they just turn brown. I’ll write more tomorrow when I get around to checking my e-mail!

        • 

          Well, it would depend on the tree … although, I guess all trees lose their leaves when they die, huh? Even evergreens? Looks like I’ll have to go on a wee photography field trip, find some naked trees … Oh, but that might mean waiting till next winter (esp since I should really try to go to the same place) … That may have to go in the “too hard” (and too long to wait) basket(s). Plus, before I get too attached to this one, I should talk to a pro, find out what they would do.

  2. 

    I really like the girl. But she is rendered and trees are photo realistic. Perhaps applying a filter or overlay to the trees would blend to two together better.

    I also really like the duality of the image, light verses dark.

    • 

      Thank you. It would be the duality I’m going for, so I’m glad it works. The rest is just detail – little fixes here and there.
      My plan with the image of the girl is to keep working on it, but it will never look photo realistic, so yes I will likely have to do a little more work to the trees … I’ve never been a landscape artist – I barely do people. Animals are much more my thing … Hmmm … Should have written an animal book, huh?
      Thanks for popping by.

Wanna talk about it?

