Perfection is Overrated …

DebE —  August 9, 2012 — 1 Comment

… but not in a first draft. I would have loved for my first draft to be perfect. Then I’d be published already.

But in characters, we all know that perfection is not something to strive for. Not if you want them to be identifiable to the readers, anyway.

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, I’ve just thought of a way to make my leading man less perfect in my eyes … although, according to the romance trope, it might make him more appealing. Girls like their men to be experienced, right? (Although, personally, I see a difference between a man who has become experienced by learning a bunch of stuff with one or two women, compared to the man who uses the same move on dozens, or hundreds. Am I wrong?)

Still, regarding the previous post about genetics and such, I got to thinking. Here I was thinking that my main bloke’s mentor/father-figure would want him to hook up with the “right woman” and make beautiful babies together … But, where is the real “saving the species” drive in that? Surely, what he really wants from my main man is for him to go forth and multiply. And multiply and multiply … It would make sense, no?

Strangely, I hadn’t thought of it before. Call me sheltered. Yeah, I can take it.

I can see why the mentor wouldn’t want the male-protag to hook up with the female-protag if that combo is seen as an evolutionary dead-end (figuratively speaking … they haven’t learned about evolution yet). Either a dead-end, or at risk of breeding something super scary … like a super dooper powerful whatsit.

Anyway … this line of thinking has me thinking (uh oh, word repetition, cut it, cut it! … wait … Thesaurus!! … oooh, yeah … ruminate … yeah, now we’re talkin’) I may need to rewrite some scenes. It doesn’t need to be an IN YOUR FACE change, but there needs to be a change … uh, alteration.

Oh, the “benefits” of making plans for Book 2 while still considering Book 1 not quite complete …

Geez. When did this writing gig become hard work?

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Young Love: Spring is on it’s way | Deb E - August 10, 2012

    […] Just thought I’d lift the mood from the trials and tribulations of writing and genetics and multiplying and such, and take a moment to notice that the daffodils are making their bid for spring garden […]

Wanna talk about it?

