A Helping Hand …

DebE —  August 6, 2012 — Leave a comment

Here you go. Your chance to help a fellow writer get their book into the world.

Cover of "Ghost Hand" by Ripley Patton (cover by Kura Carpenter)

“Ghost Hand” by Ripley Patton (cover by Kura Carpenter)

Yes, Ripley has started a Kickstarter project to help get her book published at a standard she can be proud of (including professional editing and cover design – done by my fellow Dunedin Writers’ Workshopper Kura Carpenter). It’s the sort of thing I will likely have to do, too, although I think there is a New Zealand alternative (for tax purposes it’s simpler, I assume).

I haven’t looked into it for myself, yet – I’m still holding out for this competition to maybe earn me a critique. But, if I’m honest, I’m not holding my breath. Even if I have a good and marketable story, I suspect my story isn’t a good fit for the judge of the competition, so I can see it slipping by just on that point. I was thinking about it earlier this afternoon, actually. I’m a little concerned because I have written a fantasy story. But it’s probably heavier in romance that the traditional popular fantasies … but, then I remember reading a Lois McMaster Bujold story, and it was pretty heavy on the romance … I didn’t love it, actually, but a lot of people do. Anyway, my point is that I can see how a traditional publisher might pass on my story for the difficulty in easily marketing it. But then, that’s one reason why I’m considering going indie. Still, I will need to find a market for it. Hmmm. I’m kind of hoping a few good Goodreads reviews will help. But I’m betting there’s more to it than that!

So, right, where was I … Yes. If you can mange it, please go and support Ripley. She is the reason there is a Speculative Fiction community in New Zealand. I plan to add my own pledge. But as we are having trouble paying our credit card bill at the moment, but have a loan due to be paid off next month, I’m going to wait to try to line it up with next month’s credit card bill … It’s not perfect, but it gives me the illusion that we’ll be able to afford it! But I’ll feel kind of stink if I go asking others for money in a month or two’s time if I haven’t been generous myself. Anyway, I’m hoping to make up what I can’t afford to pledge by drumming up extra support from you guys … (o:  Any help you give will help me feel better for what I can’t offer at this time.

Thank you.

And good night.

2nd December 2012 Update: Ghost Hand is now available on Amazon as a Kindle eBook!

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

