Okay, here’s the proof that I suck

DebE —  June 15, 2012 — 10 Comments

Here … I talked about this in my last post, but wasn’t brave enough to show it.

Jonas and Llew - a cover idea

Jonas and Llew – a cover idea

Anyway, Llew nicely covers the crappily drawn right hand of Jonas, but, I don’t know … she’s looking older than I want her to, and I don’t know exactly why, or, therefore, how to fix it. If you’re an artist, give me some pointers, please? (it’s not completed, by any means … but I’m not sure that I will bother, now).

Actually, I have a new idea for a potential cover design now, anyway.

I just knew taking that screen shot from a Criminal Minds episode would (might … might not) pay off.

I realize I am meant to be putting forward a professional front here, if I want to be taken seriously as an author. But, I’m not a published author. I am not a paid digital artist. I am a practising writer and a practising illustrator. If people like what I have done to date, great. But, there’s more to come, and I’m not afraid to admit it.

So, thoughts? How old do you think Llew looks?

Also, over on Authonomy (see what I did, there? {wink}), I have been discussing openings in a forum. I’m considering doing a post on openings.

I have some questions:

What’s your favourite opening line from a novel? (or several, if you like)

Do you think blood smells, and how would you describe it (this is to help me get my latest opening right)? Of course, I may change it, yet. I like to play.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

10 responses to Okay, here’s the proof that I suck

  1. 

    See those subtle lines to the right (from the onlooker’s perspective) of her nose and by her chin and the shadow under her cheekbone? Try erasing them, or use a less dark shadow color, to make her look a little younger.

    • 

      Thanks for that. Yeah, I wondered if I just needed to soften things a bit. I think the problem was that my main model was Charlize Theron – a beautiful woman, but not 17.

      • 

        Haha, true. Softening, and rounding the features a bit. I.e., taking away the hard edges in the shadows, etc. (Sorry for the fuzzy explanations, I ony just got up.)

        As for the age she looks, IMHO she’s got the haircut and facial expression of a self-confident 30-something. That ain’t a bad thing, but it doesn’t make her look 17 either. 😉

        • 

          Yeah. She’s gotta have the short hair, cos she starts off trying to look like a boy – another thing I need to work on. SO, I need to find a young boy hair style … but not the Beib. Please not the Beib.

          • 

            You could ask Google. Or just give her a mohawk. 😉

            • 

              Mmm mohawks. It’s just past midnight here, and all I can think of is the line from the Weird Al song “Melanie”: “Are you still mad I gave a mohawk to to your cat?”
              I’ll play around. But, I’ve got another idea I’m going to try out, I think.

            • 

              Hehe, one of my aunts once had a rabbit with a mohawk.

              Hey, it’s your character. Do whatever floats your boat. I’m just throwing around weird ideas. 😛

  2. 

    Looks vaguely anime-ish.
    Most of my favorite opening lines come from Heinlein or Niven. But I can’t remember any at the moment.

    • 

      Yeah, I was going to learn to do anime, but I seem to get caught up with the spit and polish moulding through shading … it’s how I’ve always drawn – I used to only work in pencil, with tissues and cotton buds for smudging, because shading is what I do … I like the anime style, but I just can’t seem to bring myself to do a really solid outline and a few shades and leave it at that. Maybe one day if I ever challenge myself to do a graphic novel and the time pressure forces me to do a more speedy style.
      I haven’t read either of those. I guess my “to-read” list may have to grow longer, yet. (Yay for Goodreads, is all I can say – makes it so easy to keep track of future readings).

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Today’s Project | Deb E - July 31, 2012

    […] Okay, here’s the proof that I suck (deberelene.wordpress.com) […]

Wanna talk about it?

