Music: New Zealand Music Month – Goodshirt

DebE —  May 30, 2012 — 4 Comments

Nearly over, and then I can return to my usual programming … although, you know what? I’m getting tempted to do the occasional music post. I have to admit that while writing is my number one “hobby”, listening to music is right up there. And, I love to share, even though I know you can just go and log into Youtube yourself. It’s nice to have directions now and then though, huh? There’s just so much music out there.It’s the same with books. I was in a 2nd-hand book store yesterday, and just looking at the shelves full of books I’ve never heard of … Made me sad as a writer, to know that my own writing will disappear into obscurity. But, it is heartening in a way, because it was a 2nd-hand bookstore. All those books I’d never heard of? Someone else bought. Yep. So, a book might not reach the heights of the New York Times bestsellers, but it’ll still get read by someone, and that is what it exists to do.

Anyway, music today. I admit, I chose this one as much for the video as for the song. It’s not the best quality video/audio, but the other version on Youtube wouldn’t even play to the end of the first line, while other videos play fine (“Things that make you go hmmm”). Anyway, check out the girl singing along to the song while the band clears out her house. Perfectly timed.

And I’ll stick this one in, too, to give you an idea of the Goodshirt sound. They’re good at a bit of humour in their music. So, here’s “Fiji, baby” – “When we went to Hamilton I said ‘Just pretend it’s a holiday’, you said ‘Yep, I’ll just pretend it’s Fiji, baby'” …

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

4 responses to Music: New Zealand Music Month – Goodshirt

  1. 

    Reblogged this on turkischland and commented:
    i love zealand

    • 

      Thanks for the reblog. I love New Zealand, too. I haven’t been to Turkey, but I do participate in a worldwide music competition and often enjoy the Turkish entries. So, I know I like the music!

Wanna talk about it?

