Music: New Zealand Music Month – Jordan Reyne

DebE —  May 24, 2012 — 3 Comments

OK, I admit, I skipped out on the random number today, in fact, I didn’t even go with my pre-prepared list. This one is total self-indulgence. I do that a lot, huh?

This one is ideal for those of you into the Steampunk genre. “The Machines of B” by Jordan Reyne. From the Youtube video, Jordan says: “A story about a mysterious engineer called “B” who wakes up one day minus his machines and is confronted with the emptiness of his inner world.”

The wonderful thing about Jordan Reyne is that she makes some of her music available for free via her Last.fm page – so go check it out! Free music. Awesome.

She has often been inspired by the sounds created by machines – trains, washing machines and the like – which is clear from the rhythms of her songs.

Personally, I still really love one of her early tracks, which was a bit more mainstream (I like to think I love weird music, but, really I just tend to like the less popular popular stuff … I think).

Here’s “Wilt”:

And, again, as a special treat for those still here … I made my own video to “Machines of B” (even before Jordan herself did!), and Jordan even said she liked it – yay!

Again, I used footage from “The Young Riders” because I had been watching it at the time.

It’s just another way to explore storytelling, in my opinion. Kind of fun. My goal is to play with emotions, so if I did that, then I did a good job. Now to do that with my novel …

I was always a fan of the way Josh Brolin portrayed his character (a fictional James Butler Hickok) dealing with death. I think the show’s writers did, too, because they did one episode where he got a whole sub-plot (nothing to do with the main story at all) where he nursed an injured Native American man, getting to know him without the benefit of shared language, only to have the man die at the end. I believe the whole point of the sequence was for us to see “Jimmy” dealing with loss again, because he was just so darn good at it. Which is why I’ve given him a wee bit in the middle of this video … that, and I think he’s so darn sexy. OK, I admit it, Josh Brolin is one of my Hollywood crushes. There.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

3 responses to Music: New Zealand Music Month – Jordan Reyne

  1. 

    I liked “Wilt.” “Machines” less so.
    I liked Josh Brolin in “Jonah Hex.” That’s really all I’ve seen him in. I am looking forward to “MIB 3,” though I am keeping my expectations low. Nothing can recapture the offbeat magic of the original. “NYPD means Nock Your Punk-ass Down!” I like that.

    • 

      Yeah, I’m not expecting too much from MIB III, but I am looking forward to seeing Brolin do his Tommy Lee Jones impersonation – he is so good at impersonations.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Music: New Zealand Music Month – Bailterspace: Splat « Deb E. - May 2, 2013

    […] Music: New Zealand Music Month – Jordan Reyne […]

Wanna talk about it?

