Music: New Zealand Music Month – Stellar*

DebE —  May 19, 2012 — 3 Comments

Hi! Here I am, back again to share another Kiwi music sensation. Some of you international visitors may have heard of Bic Runga (whom I haven’t showcased, yet, but she is on my list … but, I’m pretty sure at least one of her songs did well internationally – “Good Morning Baby” with Semisonic). Anyway, her little sister, Boh Runga, is in a band called Stellar* (yeah, the asterix is part of it … but you’d have to ask them why). I think I mentioned going to see them live when they played alongside The Feelers in my Feelers post. So, yeah, these guys came out back in the ’90s, and I thought they were pretty cool – cool enough to buy their first album, anyway. They’ve done stuff since, though I admit I haven’t followed – can’t follow everyone!

Anyhoo, down to business, here’s a taste of Stellar*:

As you can see, they’re a bit more rocky than Bic (pronounced ‘Beck’).

Here’s a slower one:

Now . . . if you’ve actually come to check out this post, and stuck with me this long, I’m going to share a secret. I don’t know how secret it is, but you might not have guessed it. You see, before I started writing in recent years, I played with story-telling in another medium – Fan Videos! Yes. Some people start with Fan Fiction, but I played with video editing – which was actually very helpful; after a little playing, I was able to edit together our wedding videos reasonably well (we were lucky enough to have two cameras on hand, and a bluetooth microphone to capture the audio, and for the dances, I mixed in the original tracks – something I wouldn’t have known how to do if I hadn’t discovered Fan Vidding).

One of the things I decided I could do when making Fan Vids, was show case New Zealand music (since the shows people do fav vids for already have a large fan-base, generally), so I did a few videos to NZ tunes, one of which was by Stellar, their song “What You Do (Bastard)” . . . and I am going to share it, here . . . (blush).

The show I started doing fan vids for was “The Young Riders”, an old TV show that many of its fans wish had lasted longer (but, I think the best shows know when to end, too! Better to leave your fans wanting more . . . I’m looking at you “Bones”). Anyway, here goes:

So, as you can see, the road to writing can be long and convoluted, but if we’re determined, we will make it one day.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

3 responses to Music: New Zealand Music Month – Stellar*

  1. 

    I like! (the music and your video)

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Music: New Zealand Music Month – Bic Runga | Deb E - May 21, 2012

    […] as mentioned in the Stellar* post, you might have heard of Bic Runga before, particularly in this song, which featured on the […]

Wanna talk about it?

