Still Alive

DebE —  May 8, 2012 — Leave a comment

Yep, in amongst all this music showcasing I am, indeed, still breathing life into my WIP story. Of course, I have a short story I really ought to get to work on, too … but that just seems like too much hard work at the moment.

Today I ran my story through Larry Brooks’ Beat Sheet. One could say I’m procrastinating, but I like to think of it as getting the bigger picture properly nailed down. Today’s exercise has seen me shuffle some scenes around again, making a more concrete plan as far as the sequence of events should go and generally making me feel better about the finished product I plan to ship out to the world. And, I’m enjoying all this planning and then streamlining of scenes, editting and the like. I really like working like this.: Going big, then narrowing down to what happens in a scene and then, finally, choosing the “right” (hopefully!) language for that scene. It’s a real process, and it’s very much like drawing or painting.

So, while I develop this story, I am learning how I like to work, trying out a few techniques and will, hopefully, have some idea of how I’ll do it in the future by the time I finish this. Or at least get it sorted by the end of the next one. Yeah, it’s fun. I am a big-picture kind of person, but I do also love to develop the details (which is why I can’t, despite my efforts, seem to draw in a cartoon/manga-style … they just keep coming up all realistic-like … it’s not actually what I’m trying to do … but, I love shaping and moulding those details).

Anyway, for fun … here are the first few steps of my Snowflaking efforts:

My one-sentence summary: “A girl whose power to heal also brings death fights for her freedom.”

It is recommended to keep the sentence to a maximum of 15 words … but, I have considered expanding it to: “A girl whose power to heal also brings death fights to remain free from those who would use her power to wage war.” I think that might be my “elevator pitch”, should I ever find myself in an elevator with someone who says “Hey, I’m a publisher, what’s your pitch?” and I would stand there dumbfounded for a moment thinking “Do I have ‘writer’ tattooed on my forehead?” before bumbling out my pitch, which I would trip all over the words of, thus ending any chance of picking up a publishing contract the “easy” way …

And then I have my one-paragraph summary (well, several sentences, that for the purposes of potential “back-copy blurb” are each their own paragraph …), as assisted by The Canaries:

“Llew has a gift. Her body heals itself from any injury—but at a cost to anyone nearby. When she dies, she comes back surrounded by death.

She can see no way to stop her power from hurting others … until she finds herself travelling with a man carrying the one weapon that might kill her for good.

The last of his warrior race, Jonas is surrounded by the ghosts of his loved ones. At his side, the cursed knife that took their lives. Jonas has learned the hard way that caring for others means their death.

Jealousy of his half-brother’s celebrated strength and speed drove Braph to create a device that gives him the power to perform magic, any magic. But it needs fuel—the blood of a healer …”

Yeah, something like that …

I’m also playing with a “Tagline” … Would you pick up the book and flip over to read the blurb above, or pretend vomit and run away quickly?

“A girl who heals. A man that kills. A love to save them both.” (I admit, I’m not quite sure on it … I know the love story is the backbone of the whole thing, and I do like to read a well-constructed romance … but, I admit, it’s a bit of a guilty pleasure for me. Maybe I just have to get over it … I mean, I do intend to send this out into the public arena … heck, I already have … eep!)

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

