Music: New Zealand Music Month 2

DebE —  May 5, 2012 — 1 Comment

Today, the random number generator landed on my option to showcase the band Opshop. Now, Opshop have become quite big over the last few years, so that means I have a good number of songs to choose from. But, you know what? I am going to go right back to their first single … the one that grabbed my attention (not to say I haven’t liked more recent stuff, I certainly have … apart from that real sell-out bit in the middle, but they’re regaining their rock roots, so I forgive you, Jason).

Of course, I absolutely support you going off and further investigating any of the bands I put up here.

Oh, alright, I did miss a few days, so I’ll chuck in a “freebie” … A taste of slow Opshop (but, still before they did their sell-out):

Unfortunately, “Awaken” isn’t a single … but, then, I still wouldn’t be able to share that song’s true magic. When performed live, lead singer, Jason, grabs another set of drumsticks and gets stuck in alongside the usual drummer … It’s a most awesome song live. They also do a good “Put Another Log on the Fire” when requested … I kid you not. Actually, the funniest thing about that performance was the guy who walked across the circle in the middle of the crowd to pass the crazy lady dancing (judgemental, I know, but, seriously, she’s not all there) a log … from his back pack. I’m not sure he’s all there, either.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Music: New Zealand Music Month – Zed | Deb E - May 25, 2012

    […] talents to The Feelers, who are traditionally a three-piece, but tend to need a fourth when live (Opshop have been known to loan their guitarist, too). Oh, and now he plays for The Feelers officially. […]

Wanna talk about it?

