Ticking Along and a Prequel

DebE —  April 23, 2012 — Leave a comment

883 words on “Weapons of War”, so far today. And I should get another moment to add to that, as hubby would like to play his drums tonight – he’ll do that after Master 19months goes to bed, so I’ll have some time (if rackety) to myself. I like making this sort of progress.

As a bonus for you, readers, I have decided to post up a prequel-scene short story. I wrote it for a writing.com competition called “Bring Forth The Darkness: Sex, Drugs & Rock ‘n Roll”. I thought that with a theme like that, it would be a good chance to explore my antagonist (not that my protags are goodie twos, but …). For the competition, I only had to touch on one of those themes but, for fun, I decided to get all three in there – so, you have been warned. Read if you feel like exploring the world I am creating, don’t if it doesn’t sound like your cup of tea. The story is called “Toes Across The Floor” and I have filed it with my “Weapons of War” chapters.

I didn’t win that competition. There were only two entries, so it was a case of win-lose. So, while I could say I came second, I really don’t know how I would have done had there been more entries. Still, I had fun exploring my psychologically damaged antagonist and his relationship with my main female protagonist’s mother … indeed.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

