Music Discovery, I do it

DebE —  April 19, 2012 — 5 Comments

Hey crew … (I’m pretending I have an audience … that’s what writers do, we pretend)

So, something else I love, along with writing, is music. A few years ago, I was privileged to be asked to join an online community of music lovers and give my 2-cents regarding my enjoyment of music from around the globe. At the same time, I get to showcase music from New Zealand. Now, I was keeping this separate from my writing life, but, well, I figure there are people out there who might be interested in both … maybe.

So, I thought I might share the video that one of my lovely fellow Countdowners compiled for the April 2012 competition. It gives you a brief taste of the songs competing this month. If any of them catch your attention, I encourage you to go check them out further …

I have been grateful for my participation in this competition several times. Some of my most “inspiring to write to” songs have come from here …

For those interested, here is the song/country list:

Posted Image Adhitia Sofyan – September – Indonesia
Posted Image Aesthetic Perfection – Inhuman – USA
Posted Image Alphabetics – Frutista – Costa Rica
Posted Image Better Than Grey – The Most Stupid Way To Tell Someone That You Don’t Like Them – Bulgaria
Posted Image Bidiniband – Last of the Dead Wrong Things – Canada
Posted Image Brian Cross feat. Mónica Naranjo – Dream Alive – Spain
Posted Image Buddha Sounds – Nederdsza (Mitali Remix) – Argentina
Posted Image Carrousel – En équilibre – Switzerland
Posted Image Charli XCX – Nuclear Seasons – UK
Posted Image Choir Of Young Believers – Patricia’s Thirst – Denmark
Posted Image Christina Matsa – Hypnotized – Cyprus
Posted Image David Grom – En klic stran – Slovenia
Posted Image Dječaci – Lovrinac – Croatia
Posted Image eAeon – Bulletproof – Republic of South Korea
Posted Image Eisblume – Für Immer – Germany
Posted Image Epica – Storm the Sorrow – Netherlands
Posted Image First Aid Kit – Emmylou – Sweden
Posted Image fripSide – Hesitation Snow – Japan
Posted Image Gökçe – Ne yapardım – Turkey
Posted Image Goldfish Parade – Soldier – Lebanon
Posted Image Goran Papazz – Sonce za tri sveta – Macedonia
Posted Image Isoveli – Tanssi tai kuole – Finland
Posted Image Kari Amirian – Jump Into My Heart and Stay – Poland
Posted Image Kerli – Zero Gravity – Estonia
Posted Image Ladrões do Tempo – Mora na Filosofia – Portugal
Posted Image Lester The Fierce – The Asylum – Australia
Posted Image Los Violetas – Televisores – Dominican Republic
Posted Image Lucie Redlová – Sběračky čaje – Czech Republic
Posted Image Mafa – Tiba – Malaysia
Posted Image Mal Yo – ¡Ay que me quemo! – Uruguay
Posted Image Markas Palubenka – Easter Comes – Lithuania
Posted Image Mecánico – Street Royal – Chile
Posted Image Mirami – Miramimania – Ukraine
Posted Image Mr. – Zuo tian – China
Posted Image Oren Lavie – 4th Time Around – Israel
Posted Image Ovi feat. Mike Raw – One Day – Romania
Posted Image Pamela Rodríguez – Ligera Love – Peru
Posted Image Rezophonic – Regina Veleno – Italy
Posted Image Samostalni Referenti – Život je san – Serbia
Posted Image Sinéad O’Connor – The Wolf Is Getting Married – Ireland
Posted Image Susanne Sundfør – White Foxes – Norway
Posted Image The 28th of May – Pain Garden – Azerbaijan
Posted Image The Finger – I Don’t Believe My Eyes – Greece
Posted Image The Fraiz – Bombs – Belarus
Posted Image Torreblanca – Dejé de ser yo – Mexico
Posted Image Triggerfinger – I Follow Rivers – Belgium
Posted Image Úlfur Úlfur – Ég er farinn – Iceland
Posted Image Văn Mai Hương – Nếu như anh đến (Acoustic Version) – Vietnam
Posted Image Vaseva – After Love Comes Laughter – Austria
Posted Image Villainy – The Answer – New Zealand (That’s mine!)
Posted Image Yana Kay – Paloma – Latvia
Posted Image Zaho – En avant ma musique – Algeria
Posted Image Zebda – Un je ne sais quoi – France

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

5 responses to Music Discovery, I do it

  1. 

    Very cool! Villainy isn’t my speed, but it’s from NZ so it has to be good. I like Better Than Grey, Fripside (holy crap that’s funny, the Nips making fun of their own inability to say their Ls), Kerli (cute Estonian accent), Ovi, Samostalni Referenti (sounds like Southern California ska music to me), and Zaho. It’s interesting how many bands sing in English. So many of them would pass for American or British. Very interesting. Thanks for sharing that!

    • 

      Yes, so far Ovi is looking like it will be amongst my top picks. I have another week to pick my top ten … and rank them (urgh!). It gets tough when there are so many good songs.

      And, yep, lots do sing in English. I actually find that a little disappointing. Even more disappointing is that the coolest non-English NZ entries I’ve found most recently have been in Spanish (huh?) rather than Maori, which would be fabulous. Unfortunately, I joined the Countdown crew too late to share Tiki Taane’s “Tangaroa (God of the Sea)” with them. *So* wish I could. If it ever gets re-released and becomes eligible again I will have it in there so fast …

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Music Discovery: June 2012 | Deb E - June 16, 2012

    […] Discovery: June 2012 Posted by DebE on June 15, 2012 I’ve mentioned before that I am a member of the online music voting community The Countdown. Here is the Youtube video […]

Wanna talk about it?

