Summertime @ 45° 56’ S and 170° 12’ E…

DebE —  December 12, 2011 — 2 Comments

… with a baby.

It’s tricky. I’ll tell ya that. At Summer Solstice (~21-22-Dec) it doesn’t get 100% dark. Sure, the sun goes down & the moon comes up (“& long ago somebody left with the cup… ” – sorry, music is never far from my brain), but the sky only gets so far as a dark blue.

BabyJ’s bedtime is 8pm – I think that’s too late for a 1 yr old, but it’s what we’ve managed to settle on, so far. Only, it’s getting tricky to even enforce that. And I get it. I remember being a kid & not getting the fact that it was still light outside & I was in bed. But a post 8pm bedtime followed by a 4.30am wake up. Ah, no. That doesn’t work for me. It’s bad enough that my tired brain is ready to switch off by 8pm, doing me out of some good writing time – assuming there aren’t other distractions, like dishes & washing & baking & those other things that come with keeping a household ticking.  Hence my dull blog posts of late. Creative processes die off in the evenings. I tend to use the few morning moments I get to work on WotW. And, that is coming along quite nicely, thank you. OK, so I haven’t added to its wordcount in a week, but I have been thinking about it, and those thoughts have led to some pretty solid ideas, if I do say so myself. I’m hearing my characters talk again, which is nice. For a while there they’d gone rather quiet. I blame the odd tangent I was taking. They didn’t want to go that way. Ooh, now I’m starting to sound like a crazy writer –  “I just sat back & my characters wrote themselves. No, really.” Honestly, though, there is certainly room for gut instinct in this writing game.

OK. That’s all you’re getting from my tired brain this evening.

Any parents got any hints for bedtime? Or at least some words of encouragement so I don’t feel like the meanest mother in the world for enforcing a bed-time. In all honesty, I think I’d feel better about it if I could say it was strictly in his best interests. But, no, by the time evening rocks around, I am hanging out for child-free time.There. I said it. Turn me in. Lock me up. I crave ‘me’ time.

For your entertainment, & if you missed the above reference:

0K. That’s the first time five checked out the video. I always pictured this…

I should do a “mash-up” one day.

However, the actual video does clarify the song better…

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

2 responses to Summertime @ 45° 56’ S and 170° 12’ E…

  1. 

    Points for posting a Cake video. You get a cookie.

    • 

      Yum! I like cookies. Cake is one of those underrated bands. “Short skirt, Long jacket” gets pretty good mileage in TV & movies, if a few years too late. Got there eventually, though.

Wanna talk about it?

