Learning experience

DebE —  November 30, 2011 — 1 Comment

That’s what this is. Importing a computer is a learning experience. I should have just sorted it myself. I knew that if I bought a computer from overseas I would likely have to organize some Customs paperwork and such. But, when I saw a company offering to help with buying items from overseas I thought it would be so nice to have someone else take care of it for me. As it turned out, all they did was provide a US address to have items shipped to (for purchasing from buyers who wouldn’t ship outside the US)… Well, there were plenty of sellers who would ship worldwide, but, since I thought I had this nice easy option, I used this company… to no avail. I am still having to deal with Customs paperwork, but instead of getting it sorted I am doing it all after my computer landed in the country, so it is me that is holding up getting it.

Now Customs want a breakdown of the freight paid… do you think any of my receipts have a freight breakdown? No. Not the ones generated by the company I went through,  and not the Paypal one (and fair enough). Big hefty sigh. It is simply a case of “I should have done it myself”.  Have sent an email off to the company for a breakdown. Although, the nice Customs lady did say she could make an educated guess ok. She was lovely. I don’t know how much the fact that I had my baby with me, am full up with a cold and was a little teary-eyed (tired, frustrated, feeling stupid…) influenced her manner.

Of course, all this would have been averted if Asus had just brought the computer into NZ as it was (and I had been given a couple of dates by two different companies several months ago… so they did at least think about it…).

Maybe by next week I will have my shiny, new drawing tool…

 

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

One response to Learning experience

  1. 

    Yes, when in doubt, make something up. Bureaucrats just want some paper to push around. It’s not important what’s on it.

    Thanks for visiting my little corner!

Wanna talk about it?

