Waiting, waiting…

DebE —  November 29, 2011 — Leave a comment

I hate waiting. My tendency towards impatience rares its ugly head… ugh!

So, I ordered my computer on the 14th November. I ordered it from the USA, cos, well, Asus in their infinite wisdom decided not to release this particular model in NZ. Yes. I am going to rubbish them for that. And then I am going to write glowing reviews of how wonderful it is to draw on with each picture I create on it… So be it.

Waiting is distracting. As is work, and a child, and now a head cold… mumble mumble. Also, major re-writes do hit progress hard. And I know that some might say “Forge ahead anyway”. But, I don’t feel that I can. My rewrites involve really understanding my character’s motivations and reactions to some pretty major events. And it impacts on the plot. Kind of important. This is the problem with just writing without a plan to start with. I did sit down and do an outline a few months back, and that helped. Except, that now I feel that it messed with my characters a bit. I didn’t take their backgrounds into consideration quite enough.  Now I am about to go back and tackle a scene I had thoughts on months ago (I have notes) – possibly a year ago – but I had dismissed it for some reason… I forget exactly. But, now I realize that that version of events is the best choice. And now that I have the scene more firmly in my head (Just need to flesh out the dialogue) I feel nearly ready to tackle it. No point right this very second as my son is due to wake up any moment (in fact, he was due to wake up about an hour ago, but I think he has the same bug as me).

What I have been doing lately has been writing my outline again. And writing a side-line document of the history for a couple of characters. And in the process of both it has got me asking question about some of my more minor characters, and I realize that I don’t know them as well as I should. It’s less fun than playing with the main characters, but I need to sit down with these guys and nut them out. I need to know them so I can write them.

Anyway. The computer is tied up in Customs at the moment. It’s waiting for me to get an importer number, so it can be released. DHL sent me the forms to apply yesterday afternoon (I would have done it sooner had I known… learning experience, see?). I filled them out and took a photo of my passport (I don’t have a scanner) and sent it back almost immediately (as close to, given the time it takes to fill in forms etc). I got a call just before asking if I’d received the form. I said yes. So I opened my email programme and resent my filled in form and photo of my passport. Within minutes I get a response saying they will forward it to Customs (that was a response to yesterday’s email), and minutes later another message in response to my second message, sent today… So, with Customs getting two applications, hopefully things will get moving now… I won’t expect the computer tomorrow, though… sigh. I’ve been sneaking looks out the cat door for the package since Friday…

 

 

(and yes, I do know it’ll be sign-for thing… very, very unlikely to be left sitting at the front door… still doesn’t stop me checking.)

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

