Exciting times…

DebE —  November 15, 2011 — Leave a comment

Soon to come… PICTURES! Yay (o:

See, I used to draw all the time. Mostly horses, and some people, but draw a lot, I did. I never did too well with colour, though. Paint, pastels, etc just flummoxed me. I don’t know. They just did. At least, I couldn’t get the results I wanted to achieve. And then came computers. I like graphic art. I really do. But, it’s SO hard to do with a mouse, or a trackpad. And not a whole lot easier with a graphics tablet (maybe with a good one, but I’ve never had the money). Plus, I’m just used to drawing directly on the medium… so, what to do, what to do? Well, many years ago, I wanted a tablet PC. But, they were way too expensive. So, I got my laptop. Not for graphics, just for computing. Still wanted a tablet, but was being realistic. Well, these days tablet PCs are a lot cheaper than they were. Still not cheap, but cheaper. I’m also poorer (with a baby and a mortgage and I ain’t going into all the insurances, blah blah). However, I still seem to be lucky. I have often had a knack for getting what I want. Not always when I want it, mind, but still… So, what is happening? Yesterday, I ordered a tablet PC. An Asus EP121 to be exact. It comes with Artrage on it (a NZ made programme, but the way). I am EXCITED. I still have to wait two weeks… but, hey, there’s a due date (ish… two weeks-ish)!! How did I wrangle this? Well, I don’t want to go into it too deeply. But, it is a business expense. It will be a work computer… that I can draw on… yeah! It will be helpful, because there are some scenes I’d like to sketch out for myself so I can write them better. Plus, I just want to make this place prettier!

Can’t wait…

My first plan is to redo my picture of Jonas and Llew together. I like the idea of the picture, but my execution was lacking. I might have fixed it by now if my pen-tab hadn’t died. Never mind, better late than never, right? Then I am going to work on drawing some Gryphons. Because they interest me, and I intend to redesign Jonas’ tattoo. His tattoo used to be my “Soulhaven” symbol that I made up once:

tattoo designIt was/is pretty random, and not that easy to draw again. So, I plan to take my time to design something better. Plus, dragon tattoos seem overly common. So, I thought I’d give a Gryphon a go. I’ve been a fan for a while (my first dog was called “Griffin”… OK, we’ll ignore that I was a Party of Five fan when I got him…), and I’m keen to play around with the basic “design” of the creature and then go on to the tattoo. It’s important for me to see it on him (Jonas, that is).

And now that I’ve made myself almost cry, I will add: RIP Griff. I still think you should have lived forever…

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

