You just acquired a magic wand. What will you use it for?

DebE —  August 25, 2011 — Leave a comment

This is a random Next Post Suggestion from WordPress. Well, I could wave it and make peace on Earth, I guess… But, that might require the wiping out all of Human-kind… and Chimps (they go to war, too, you know)… and pretty much any animal that eats (no, I will not discount herbivores… plants have feelings, too, you know). OK, so that’s out.

I really don’t know. A little money would be nice. I don’t need to get greedy. Just enough to allow me to earn my own way without too much struggle – although we know that some struggle is character-building. Necessity is the mother of creativity, and all that. Actually… why don’t I just wave it and give myself the tablet that I want. Then, that leaves me still hungry enough to get working on making a little pocket money with a few illustrations… no, it wouldn’t happen overnight, but I’d get there… probably about the time that our smaller loans are paid off and stop eating our money, anyway… but, that just means we’d feel the weight lifted even higher. It would be awesome.

Of course, more money would let me pay off the mortgage and student loan, help out a few mates (OK, enough to help lots of mates, cos I’d just have people grumpy at me, otherwise)… but, then, when does it stop? How many people do you help? And I’d want to donate to the SPCA and the like. And what about the starving kids? I’d like to be able to help them, too. How much money would I need to do all that, though? You know what? I think I’d just go with the tablet (and a little extra for a few hours childcare here and there). Go from there. Work my butt off to make something of my creative drives… And then, if I choose to donate to charity, my ‘friends’ (note the quotes) aren’t gonna be wondering why I didn’t give them handouts first… If you work for the money, people don’t expect you to pass it round…

Is money all? No, it’s not, actually. But, in our world, it is kind of important.

Maybe I should wave the wand and reinvent our entire financial system… I’d have to talk to some serious Sociology-type people, first. But, something that isn’t based on perpetual growth. Because, let’s face it, the Earth is finite. It’s resources are finite. I honestly hate that our global economy requires more people to be born to buy more stuff, etc etc… What happens if there is a population crash? Everything loses value… more houses than people that need homes? Cheaper houses. More cell phones in the world than people that want/need them? Cheaper phones… but more expensive services to use them, no doubt. I don’t know… my brain starts to cut out at some point.

Don’t get me wrong. I love technology. And I love what money can drive people to do – invent awesome stuff. But, I wonder if people would just invent this stuff anyway. If they had food, shelter, and a little more than what a human absolutely needs, and money was no object, someone who wanted to use a fancy computer and had the know how to invent one would invent it. Same as I want to read this story, so I started writing it. Sure, I’d like to make some money from it now that I realize how much of my life I have to dedicate to it, but that isn’t the important thing. I want it to exist. And I’d like to share it with people. The fact that I wouldn’t have the time to write it if I was off earning money in other ways means that I need to try to make some money from it. That is because, as I said, that’s how our world works. It’s how it has worked for thousands of years. But, I can’t help but feel that something is going wrong…

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

