The great attention-grabber – snow

DebE —  July 24, 2011 — Leave a comment

Indeed. It snowed today. So, when I might have had a moment to be writing, or doing something else productive, I was staring out the window watching the snow fall. Actually, early on I was staring out the window wondering when the snow would turn up – it had been forecast, afterall, what was the hold up?

Well, it turned up. Only about 2cm deep here at approx 130m above sea-level, but it’s enough to cause some havoc on the roads. Usually when it snows in Dunedin – at least as I recall it from my childhood – it snows overnight leaving the world looking gorgeously white first thing in the morning until the first people venture out, churning up the snow and mixing in mud from the damp lawns underneath. And then the day is fine, and the snow slowly melts.

Today, I woke to a normal, if cold, morning. There was the thinnest hint of snow over night – just enough to make me timid on the back steps when I took the dog outside.

It began to snow about mid-morning. The sky above our house was clear, just a minimal few flakes floating their way over from the clouds skirting about the nearby hills. When the snow finally arrived, it was the main event of the day. To me, it is still a rare thing to actually see the snow fall. And yet, when it has snowed in recent years, they have been day time snowfalls. I wonder why I cling to my over-night version of events so dearly.

We took 10-month old Baby J out in it once a decent amount had settled. I don’t think he got it. We let him put his hands in the snow, and stamp his gumboot encased feet in it, but, yeah… maybe next year.

The dog, Lucy, ran around in a crazed fashion for a good while, really getting her speed on. She’s a little cross-breed; including miniature Fox and Manchester Terriers. When she blazes about the place, the hint of Whippet (used to refine the Manchester), is clearly discernible. Off-topic: you should see her keeping pace with the bigger dogs at the dog park – it’s awesome.

Tonight, the snow hasn’t melted. A little more has fallen, and there is more in the forecast. What are the chances that tomorrow will be a “snow day” for many who can’t make it to work? For me, my work is here (except one job, which is the one I normally do Monday mornings, so we shall see how we go) – the baby still needs fed, minded, changed, entertained; the website still needs designed & created (not mine, although I think I should get started on that soon, too); the hosting for the other website I recently completed still needs sorting; the novel still needs writing and reviewing; oh, yeah, and the house still needs tidied/cleaned… all of which is still here, even if it snows. If it is a “snow day” though, and hubby gets to stay home, I think I will attempt to ignore most of those tasks and will curl up on the couch, or lounge floor with Baby J, and watch more “Deadwood” (yes, it has taken us a long time to get to it, but I’m loving it).

Um… so, what was the point of this? As you can see, I have fallen into my usual meandering ways… basically, it snowed. Technically, I should have been stuck indoors with my laptop and my story(ies), but somehow, that just didn’t happen.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

