Going backwards

DebE —  June 29, 2011 — Leave a comment

Yep, I have deleted more words than I have added today. Down by 412 at the moment. Leaving my total word count at 55,282.

So, in the face of my struggle to move forwards (apologies to my readers who might actually be interested in what’s coming up) I have tightened up Chapter One. It progresses towards something that would be worthy of showing a publisher, I feel. Now to get the rest of it looking like that! But first, to finish it!

Gah! Listening to my husband and dad’s band practice downstairs. Just before I became pregnant in 2008, I had taken up learning the bass guitar. Now, when I do things, I don’t tend to do them by halves. So, I wanted to learn the more complicated bass-lines. Of course, one has to crawl, then walk, then run, but still, I tried. My dad played/plays a lot of The Shadows songs with his band, so I was learning a few of their songs. I can’t even remember the name of the song right now, but I just listened to the band practicing one of the songs I had been learning… nothing makes me want to pick up my bass guitar again more! Listening to the current bass player (granted, he always wanted to play rhythm guitar instead, but someone had to play bass… and dad is a very good lead guitarist) and he doesn’t play all the little runs that make a tune fun! No wonder he doesn’t enjoy playing bass! I liked it. I liked the idea that maybe one day I could play the bass so well that I could make it sing like a lead (always had a thing for the underdog). Must get back into it… Along with my writing, illustration and, oh yeah, that whole being-a-mummy-thing.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

