What happened to 2010?

DebE —  May 25, 2011 — Leave a comment

I started writing this story, or some form of this story, at least, back in 2009. Not just in 2009, but at the start of 2009. Around February/March, I believe. That’s right. I have been going 2 years and have managed to write about 30K words. Not much, huh? What happened?

Well, nearly everything I have written to date was either written in 2009, or 2011. 2010 was a bit of a slow year. It’s not that I didn’t think about my story every day. And it’s not that I didn’t tinker with it. But, that is basically what I did in 2010. I tinkered. I was otherwise a tad distracted.

I was pregnant for 3/4 of 2010. While I wasn’t unlucky enough to get hit with bad morning sickness (although I did get some and it wasn’t fun), I was struck by profound fatigue during my first trimester. Not overly conducive to the writing process. Plus there is a LOT to learn when you are staring down the barrel at motherhood and you’ve never been clucky before.

And then I got a 6month temp job. Don’t get me wrong it was awesome (high guys, if you’re reading (o:). But I found that I couldn’t write during the work day. I know that sounds bad, to even contemplate, but remember, some jobs don’t keep a persona fully engaged, and others do, but the lunch break is quiet. last year, I found myself generally kept busy enough and my lunch breaks were not quiet – there was always someone to talk to (again, not a bad thing! – hi guys! (o:). but it did make it tricky to write. And then there was going home to rest up my growing body and get stuck into dinner, etc… by the end of the day, not much creative writing was had.

I think the key thing here is, though, that while I may not have been actively growing my story, I never stopped thinking about it. I still played with my characters in my head (didn’t someone say that being a writer is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia?), and studied my craft via Writing.com and reading. And I never gave up the plan to continue as soon as I found the time/energy combination that would allow me to.

So, here I am, continuing. My goal, I think, is to get at least my first draft completed (yes, completed) before I begin the process of providing any future siblings for my son, since I can only see it getting more tricky with time – until daycare and kindy come into play, anyway.

I figure I am about 1/4 of the way through (that 30K words is only what’s currently in yWriter. My old Word doc has closer to 50K, some of which will get tossed (and most of which has already been transferred to yWriter, but still). And that’s only the writing. Now I also have a PLAN. When I started writing I didn’t have a PLAN. I had an idea. I had a vague idea, and some characters I wanted to write into existence. But characters that you want to write into existence need a nemesis in order to create a good story. And that is the major step forward I have taken this year. Developing my nemesis. He existed a couple of years ago, but he was pretty 2-dimensional. And, he was no match for Jonas. Pointless, really. But now he has some bulk to him. He’s muscled up. And I think he might even be quite good looking.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

