My oh my… & Lessons learned

DebE —  May 19, 2011 — Leave a comment

Well, well, well. How things change. A few months ago, I was determined to re-write nearly all of my story. I had these new ideas. And I wanted to get away from the “Romeo & Juliet”-ishness of Jonas and Llewella that I had set up. In fact, I was pleased when I came up with a plan that made the story work without that.

However, I also really like Jonas having an angry streak in him. It’s what makes him special (along with all those other angry heroes out there). Gelding him just wasn’t doing it for me. He needs the whole package.

So, I do apologise to those who have been reading this version… I have reinstated some old writing. But I am going to tell you where it is to help.

OK, first up, I realised that I had left out a big chunk of Chapter 3 without even intending to – so the beginning of Chapter 3 is back in place – it’s not super exciting, but its nice to be there.

I have reinstated the original version of Jonas’s Point-of-View section in Chapter 4. It probably needs a little work to be awesome, but it gives better insight into his reaction to Llewella’s condition.

Chapter 5, when they are talking with Aris, Aris now says:

"Jonas and an Aenuk together in one room. And the Aenuk still breathing."

That’s more like my original version of this scene.

So, what have I learned? I really need to trust myself. And I have also learned how I work best. I have read many writing advice pages, and I know that some people need to plan out a novel before writing it, and some people need to just start writing and worry about tidying it up later. Well, I am clearly in the later group. I do much better just letting my characters do things and react their way… I can sort out the why later! I mean, I always had a bit of an idea of why Jonas would hate Llewella’s race, but I just didn’t have the details. I went through a phase of thinking that if I couldn’t resolve the details that it would be better to move away from that plan. However, it just took a bit of time and some real “What? Where? How? Why? Who?” thinking.

Advice for young writers (and older ones picking it up): Write your way. You’ll get it sorted.

DebE

Posts

Deb E was born in New Zealand’s North Island, but her parents corrected that within months, moving south to Dunedin and staying there. Childhood nights were spent falling asleep to cover versions of Cliff Richard and the Shadows and other Rock ’n Roll classics played by her father’s band, and days were spent dancing to 45 LPs. Many of her first writing experiences were copying down song lyrics. She graduated to scientific reports when she studied a nematophagus fungus in the Zoology department of the University of Otago, trading all traces of popularity for usefulness… then traded both for fiction. Mum of one human & four fur-babies.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Wanna talk about it?

